Supplemental P-EBT to Begin Distribution

Have Questions? Here's Answers!

Do you have questions about Supplemental, or Summer, P-EBT benefits?

This general overview outlines eligibility, benefit amount, timeline and special circumstances. More detailed



information and frequently asked questions can be found on <u>www.dcf.ks.gov/Pages/P-EBT.aspx</u>. You can also visit by scanning the QR code above.

The Kansas Department for Children and Families in partnership with the Kansas State Department of Education will begin auto-issuing more than \$**56 million** to parent/guardians of school-aged children who are eligible to receive the Supplemental P-EBT benefits **Dec. 12, 2022**.

What are the basics?

- Supplemental, or Summer, P-EBT benefit covers the summer months of June, July and August 2022.
- Funding and authorization for the benefit is made possible through the Continuing Appropriations Act, 2021 and Other Extensions.
- Nearly 80 percent, or 144,000 children, eligible for Supplemental P-EBT benefits will be auto-issued a \$391 per child benefit beginning Dec. 12, 2022.
- The benefit is issued to a Kansas Benefits Card, as a one-time deposit.

Who is eligible to receive the benefit?

- All school-aged students who were eligible to receive free or reduced-price meals at a school through the National School Lunch Program during the 2020-2021 school year.
- Because all lunches were free to all students during the 2021-2022 school year, the 2020-2021 school year is used for eligibility.
- Children 6 years of age and younger who received Food Assistance/SNAP in June, July or August 2022 are eligible.

Who else is eligible?

- Any students newly eligible for free or reduced-price meals for the 2021-2022 school year prior to Aug. 8, 2022 will also receive the \$391 benefit.
- Children who attended a Head Start program and were enrolled in free or reduced-price meals program for the 2021-2022 school year.

How much is the benefit per child?

• Each eligible child will receive the maximum benefit of \$391, as a one-time payment on the Kansas Benefit Card.



Scan the QR code to visit the DCF Self Service Portal. When will the benefit be issued? Auto-issuance is staggered based on the last name of the child and will be completed by Dec. 21, 2022.

What about the other 20 percent of children eligible for Supplemental P-EBT benefits? If their benefit cannot be auto-issued, how do parents/guardians

request the benefit? There are circumstances that will prevent the auto-issuance of the \$391 per child benefit. If this situation occurs, the parent/guardian may apply for Supplemental P-EBT through the DCF Self Service Portal from Jan. 1-31, 2023.





Didn't receive the P-EBT Auto-Issuance?

This may be why.



Foster care placements:

Children currently in foster care. Because P-EBT benefits are for eligible children, the benefit will be issued to where the child resides.

 Foster parents of eligible children may apply through the Self-Service Portal Jan. 1-31, 2023.

Temporarily out of home placements:

Children who were temporarily out of home when auto-issuance occurred, but are back at home. The system may not recognize the updated residence.

• Parents/guardians may apply for Supplemental P-EBT through the Self-Service Portal Jan. 1-31, 2023.

Newly eligible students:

Children who moved to a Kansas school that qualifies for National School Lunch Program during the 2021-2022 school year while school lunches were free to all students, but were determined newly eligible for free or reduced-price meals program for the 2021-2022 school year.

 Parents/guardians may apply for Supplemental P-EBT through the Self-Service Portal Jan. 1-31, 2023.

Other important details to note:

- Citizenship is not a requirement to be eligible for P-EBT.
- Auto-issuance may occur even if the parent/guardian of a qualifying child may not want the Supplemental P-EBT benefits. If this occurs, destroy the Kansas Benefits Card when it is received.
 P-EBT is non-transferable and is illegal to sell, trade or give away P-EBT benefits.
- For families with more than one child, benefits will be issued to one Kansas Benefits Card based on the parent/guardian's last name of the eligible children.
- Benefits will be added to the family's current card, or if the family does not have a card, one will be issued to them.





www.dcf.ks.gov | If you would like more information, please contact DCF Customer Service Assistance: 1-833-765-2003.