
 
Child Care Subsidy Program  

The Child Care and Development Block Grant Act (CCDBG) of 1990 is the law that authorizes the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program. The Kansas Department for Children and Families is the 
Lead Agency and responsible for administering the CCDF program. The Kansas Child Care program’s 
primary goal is to assist low-income families in obtaining child care to work or attend training or education 
and to help children succeed in school and life through affordable, high-quality early education and after-
school programs. In January 2025, subsidy was provided for 14,389 children in Kansas. 

Eligible families include those who are:  

- receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) or Food Assistance and enrolled in an 
eligible work program,  

- participating in Kansas Early Head Start/Child Care Partnership programs,  
- Foster Care caregivers who are employed,  
- participating in qualifying education or training activities,  
- teen parents completing high school or a GED program,  
- those with a documented social service need per K.S.A 39-709 

General eligibility for child care subsidy is for at least one child under the age of 13, or age 13 to 18 and 
incapable of caring for him or herself.  They must cooperate with Child Support Services per K.S.A 39-709 
and have proof of U.S. citizenship for each child receiving subsidy. The family must also have a countable 
income (including wages before taxes and child support, but not SSI) below 85% State Medium Income 
(SMI) at initial eligibility.  For a household of 4, this would equate to $83,592 annually.   

Additionally, the maximum allowable non-exempt resources of all persons included in the child care case 
cannot exceed $10,000 (resources not counted include items such as: the home a family lives in, furniture, 
personal items, and some tools). DCF verifies the identity, income, resources, and citizenship of each adult 
in the household.  

Maximum Monthly Income for Child Care Subsidy 
Family Size Maximum Income 
2 $4,737 
3 $5,851 
4 $6.966 
5 $8,081 
6 $9,195 
7 $9,404 
8 $9,613 
9 $9,822 
10 $10,031 

  



The individual/family must then choose a child care provider who has an agreement with DCF.  To be 
approved, a provider must be licensed or be a close relative. Below is a graph showing the number of KDHE 
Licensed Providers versus the Licensed DCF Enrolled Providers. 

 

During FY 2025, subsidy rates paid to providers were increased to the equivalent of the 75th percentile or 
the actual cost of providers meeting the health and safety licensing requirement, whichever is higher, 
based on a Market Rate Survey.  The average monthly benefit per child was around $620 per month. The 
benefit is calculated after a family share deduction is applied. This is an amount that is deducted from the 
family’s total child care benefits and is determined based on the family’s countable income and household 
size.  This amount may not be the amount the family has to pay out of pocket to their provider.  The family is 
responsible for any amount their provider charges that is not covered by the benefits they receive, per their 
agreement with their provider.   

Child Care and Development Funds are used to provide services to strengthen the quality of child care in 
many other ways.  One is the strengthening of infants and toddler care through technical assistance, 
including the coordination of resources to assist infant-toddler child care providers. Resource and Referral 
Consumer Education services includes providing customized referrals to families for child care, consumer 
education on what to look for in quality child care, resources to providers to encourage quality 
improvement and meet family’s needs, and outreach and partnership with businesses and community 
organizations to build capacity for high-quality child care programs.  

Links to Quality, the state’s quality rating and improvement system, strives to increase access of quality 
child care for all Kansas families. The purpose is to design and implement a statewide system that defines 
and recognizes quality child care. Learning communities meet monthly to share common goals, work 
collaboratively to improve their program quality and progress through the Links to Quality Indicators.  
Workforce Development services are funded to provide child care professional development activities that 
include instruction and educational opportunities to strengthen the child care workforce, support quality 
improvement efforts, and collaborate with other key child care quality partners.   

Kansas Early Head Start Child Care Partnerships provided services to Kansas children through the 
Kansas Early Head Start (KEHS) program, delivered by KEHS grantees.  Kansas Early Head Start (KEHS) 
provides comprehensive services to child care partner programs that exhibit need, desire to participate, 



 
and have willingness to follow enhanced program regulations and requirements related to quality KEHS 
services including those related to child development, continuity of care, parent involvement, and 
professional development.  KEHS offers parents opportunities for individual and parental growth, as well as 
support in identifying and meeting goals, including a goal of self-sufficiency.  KEHS programs offer family 
strengthening and father engagement activities and education.  KEHS programs also provide financial 
literacy and health literacy education.   

 

 

 

 

 


