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A report should be made to DCF when:

• The adult is unable to protect his/her own
interest and is in a harmful situation or is in
danger of being harmed.

or
• A specific incident or pattern suggests abuse,

neglect, exploitation or fiduciary abuse is
occurring.

or
• The adult is unable to provide or obtain

the services necessary to ensure safety and
well-being and to avoid physical and mental
harm or illness.

Improving the quality of life for Kansas 
adults who are vulnerable and 
in need of protection, through 

building connections with family 
and community, fostering 
independence, promoting 
advocacy, and enhancing 

preventative services.

Where and How to Report

1. Initiate a personal visit with the adult within
24 hours to five working days of being
assigned the case, depending on the level of
risk of imminent danger to the individual.

2. With the consent of the adult, contact
collateral sources (relatives, neighbors,
service providers, etc.) to obtain additional
information.

3. With the consent of the adult, interview the
alleged perpetrator, if one has been named.

4. Discuss with the adult, and if appropriate,
the guardian, conservator or caretaker, what
actions are needed to prevent further harm.

5. Assist in locating services and making
referrals that are necessary to maintain
physical or mental health. Examples may
include legal services, medical care,
appropriate living arrangements, assistance
in personal hygiene, food, clothing and
transportation.

6. Initiate involuntary intervention (i.e.
guardianship or conservatorship) if the adult
is incapable of protecting him/herself due
to major mental and physical disability, and
there are no other options.

7. Provide advocacy to ensure protection of
personal rights.

8. Coordinate services that will include only
those that are determined to be needed
to protect the adult in the least restrictive
manner.

9. Make a finding to determine if abuse, neglect
and/or exploitation occurred.

10. Provide the alleged perpetrator the
opportunity to appeal the finding. If the
appeal is upheld, the individual’s name is
entered into a central registry of substantiated
perpetrators.

11. Immediately notify the appropriate law
enforcement agency if a criminal act has
occurred or has appeared to have occurred.

When to Report

Prevention and
Protection Services

Strong Families Make a Strong Kansas

Call the Protection Report Center at 
1-800-922-5330 or call local law enforcement if
the adult is in imminent danger.

Confidentiality
The name of the person who reports suspected 
abuse, neglect, exploitation or fiduciary abuse 
is confidential and cannot be disclosed without 
the written consent of the person making the 
report or through a court order.

If you have questions or need more information, 
please contact your local DCF office at the 
address given below:

What DCF  Will Do



Who is at risk?
Persons at risk are adults 18 years of age or 
older, who are unable to protect their own 
interest and who are harmed or threatened. The 
harm may be financial, mental or physical in 
nature, through action or inaction by themselves 
or others. Typically, this includes elderly those 
who are physically disabled, mentally ill and/or 
have developmental disablilites.

What is abuse?

Any act or failure to act intentionally or recklessly 
that causes or is likely to cause harm, including: 
infliction of physical or mental injury; sexual 
abuse; unreasonable  use of physical or chemical 
restraint, isolation or medication; threat or 
menacing conduct; fiduciary abuse; or omission 
or deprivation by a caretaker or another person 
of goods or services that are necessary to avoid 
physical or mental harm or illness.

What is neglect?
Failure or omission by one’s self, caretaker or 
another person with a duty to supply or provide 
care, goods or services that are reasonably 
necessary to ensure safety and well-being and to 
avoid physical or mental harm or illness.

Kansas law (K.S.A. 39-1431) requires persons in 
specific professions to report suspected abuse, 
neglect, exploitation or fiduciary abuse of 
adults residing in the community to the Kansas 
Department for Children and Families (DCF) 
immediately. 

Failure to report by mandated reporters is a class 
B misdemeanor. Any other person who suspects 
abuse, neglect, exploitation or fiduciary abuse 
may also report. Persons required to report are:

• any person licensed to practice any branch
of the healing arts

• licensed psychologist
• licensed master level psychologist
• licensed clinical psychotherapist
• chief administrative officer of a medical care

facility
• teacher
• licensed social worker
• licensed professional nurse
• licensed practical nurse
• licensed dentist
• licensed marriage and family therapist
• licensed clinical marriage and family

therapist
• licensed professional counselor
• licensed clinical professional counselor
• registered alcohol and drug abuse counselor
• law enforcement officer
• case manager
• guardian or conservator
• bank trust officer or any other officers of

financial institutions
• legal representative
• governmental assistance provider
• rehabilitation counselor
• holder of a power of attorney
• owner or operator of a residential care

facility

Who should report?

What is exploitation?
Misappropriation of an adult’s property or 
intentionally taking unfair advantage of an adult’s 
physical or financial resources.

A situation in which a person who is the caretaker 
of, or who stands in a position of trust, to an 
adult, takes, secretes or appropriates his/her 
money or property for any use or purpose not in 
the due and lawful execution of the adult’s trust 
or benefit.

What is fiduciary abuse?

• independent living counselor
• chief administrative officer of a licensed

home health agency
• chief administrative officer of an adult family

home
• chief administrative officer of a provider of

community services and affiliates thereof
operated or funded by the DCF or licensed
under K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments
thereto.

Under the law, an employer is prohibited from 
imposing sanctions against an employee who 
makes a formal complaint.

What to Report
1. Name and location of the person who is

alleged to be abused, neglected, exploited,
or fiduciarily abused.

2. Information regarding the nature of the
abuse, neglect, exploitation or fiduciary
abuse, including:

• What the person saw.

• Why the reporter considers it to be abuse,
neglect, exploitation or fiduciary abuse.

• Whether the reporter considers the person
to be in immediate danger.

• Any information that might be helpful in
the investigation and protection of the
adult.

• Specific addresses and/or phone
numbers, if known, for caretakers, next
of kin, collateral contacts and alleged
perpetrators.

• Name and how to contact the person
making the report. This is confidential
information and cannot be disclosed
without the reporter’s permission or
through a court order.


