Topeka – In response to recommendations of the Governor’s Child Protective
Services Task Force, the Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
(SRS) has recently completed the conversion to a single, statewide, toll-free
number for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect. Previously the state
operated different phone numbers for reporting to each of the six SRS regional
Protection Report Centers. These centers receive reports during regular
business hours, Monday through Friday. In addition to the six regional
Protection Report Centers, SRS operates a statewide center which operates 24
hours per day, seven days per week.
Following the conversion callers statewide should call 1-800-922-5330 to make
reports of suspected child abuse or neglect 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Calls made 8:00 AM through 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, will be routed to the
regional Protection Report Center serving the caller’s area. Calls made at
other times will go directly to the statewide PRC located in Topeka.
While each region will retain its local call center, the regional numbers
will only remain operational until November 30, 2008. Beginning September 1,
regional hotlines will play an automated announcement explaining the number will
no longer be in service after November 30. The new system automatically routes
calls from anywhere in the state to the appropriate regional call center based
upon the area code and pre-fix number of the caller.
“Creation of a single, statewide number simplifies the process for those
reporting suspected abuse,” said SRS Secretary Don Jordan. “Anyone who suspects
a child has been abused or neglected has a responsibility to report. By
streamlining the reporting process, SRS hopes to provide additional support to
Kansas communities for reaching our shared goal of protecting children.”
While protecting children is part of the agency’s mission, preventing child
abuse is everyone’s responsibility. If you suspect a child is being abused or
neglected, please call the Kansas Protection Report Center 24-hour, toll-free
phone number at (800) 922-5330 or law enforcement.
Child abuse is any physical injury, physical neglect, emotional injury or
sexual act inflicted upon a child. There are several indicators, including a
child’s behavior, which may indicate that a child has been abused.
more, please visit http://www.srs.ks.gov/agency/cfs/Pages/CFSServices.aspx .