Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
LinkButton :

Skip navigation linksHome > Newsroom

main content

Newsroom SRS Expands Disaster Food Assistance in 11 Counties

The Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services (SRS) has expanded disaster food assistance to residents of Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Franklin, Greenwood, Osage, and Woodson Counties. Currently 17,520 individuals receive food assistance in those counties. It is estimated that 500 additional residents will need assistance following the flooding.

“Disaster food assistance helps individuals meet their most basic needs immediately following a disaster and helps people get back on their feet,” said Governor Sebelius. “I encourage residents who need help to apply for assistance right away.”

Applications will be accepted for seven business days, beginning Wednesday, July 25th through Thursday, August 2nd. Individuals who lived in the approved counties or those who worked in the disaster areas and have lost wages are eligible. Benefits will be issued on a debit card that will be activated upon approval. In most cases this can be done within 24 hours. 

Households in Anderson, Bourbon, Butler Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Franklin, Greenwood, Osage, and Woodson Counties affected by the flooding that received food assistance benefits at the time of the disaster are eligible to receive individual supplements that raise their July allotment to the maximum for their household size. Households must contact the SRS office and file an affidavit attesting that they have lost income or incurred disaster-related expenses.

Only counties that have received Presidential disaster declarations for individual assistance qualify for disaster food assistance. Counties previously determined eligible for disaster food assistance include Allen, Cowley, Elk, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho and Wilson Counties. The application period for these counties ends Thursday, July 26th. 

“SRS will do whatever we can do to ensure Kansans have access to services,” said SRS Secretary Don Jordan. “We have staff across the state ready to help.” 

Individuals can receive more information and apply for services at the disaster recovery centers, Red Cross emergency shelters, or at any SRS office. For more information call toll-free 1-888-369-4777.