Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 2022-2023 school year

Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefit for the Summer Months of June, July & August 2023

- 1. Who is eligible for Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT that covers summer months of June, July, and August 2023?
 - Eligible children will include students 6 years of age and older who attended a National School Lunch Program (NSLP)-participating school at the end of the 2022-2023 school year and were eligible for Free and Reduced School Lunch (FRSL) under the NSLP during the 2022-2023 school year.
- 2. Who is NOT eligible for Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT?
 - Students who are not eligible for free or reduced-price meals.
 - Students not enrolled in a school that participates in the National School Lunch Program.
 - Students who were virtual or homeschooled for the 2022-2023 school year.
 - Any child who received Child Care P-EBT for the 2022-2023 school year.
- 3. How much is the Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits amount?
 - The benefits amount for each eligible child is \$120. This will be a one-time payment.
- 4. Does my child have to be a U.S. citizen to be eligible for Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT?
 - No there is not a citizenship requirement to be eligible for Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT.
- 5. When can I expect to receive Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits for my children?
 - DCF will begin issuing Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits in January 2024.
 - Children who were eligible for free or reduced-price meals during the 2022-2023 school year and have not received Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT by end of January 2024 can request Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT through the DCF Self Service Portal from February 1, 2024 – February 29, 2024.

- 6. Can I receive my child's Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits faster by calling my local DCF office or KSDE office?
 - Calls to the local DCF or KSDE office will not result in faster processing of Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits. Please do not call KSDE or your school with questions about Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT. Customer Service will be handled by Kansas Department for Children and Families 1-888-369-4777.
- 7. What if I do not want Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits?
 - If you are eligible for P-EBT and do not want the P-EBT benefits you should destroy the Kansas Benefits Card received in the mail. P-EBT is non-transferrable. It is illegal to trade or give your P-EBT benefits to another person. If you do this, you could become ineligible for the program or be fined.
- 8. If I did not receive Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits and believe I should have, how do I request Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT benefits?
 - Those that did not receive Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT and believe they are eligible can request Supplemental (Summer) P-EBT through the DCF Self Service Portal from February 1, 2024 February 29, 2024.
 - The application can be found at https://cssp.kees.ks.gov/apspssp/sspNonMed.portal from February 1 -February 29, 2024.

Kansas Benefit Card Information

- 1. What if I don't have an EBT card?
 - If you do not have a Kansas Benefit Card, you will receive one in the mail.
 If you need a new Kansas Benefit Card due to it being lost or stolen,
 please call 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com.
- 2. If I have more than one child, will I get a different card for each child?
 - If you have more than one child approved for P-EBT, you will receive all the benefits on one card.
- 3. How long will I have access to the P-EBT benefits on the Kansas Benefits Card?
 - If P-EBT benefits are inactive for 274 days or 9 months, the benefits will be removed from the card. A notice will be sent to you in the mail letting you know you will need to spend at least \$1 by a certain date to keep the benefits active or they will be removed. If the card is being actively used the benefits will remain on the card until they are gone.

- 4. Who will get the Kansas Benefits Card if parents or guardians are not living together?
 - P-EBT benefits will be provided to the current household that is receiving benefits from DCF for that child or where the child is currently residing.
- 5. What if I get a Kansas Benefits Card with P-EBT benefits but the child is no longer in my care?
 - If the child is not in your care, you are not eligible to receive P-EBT benefits for the child. Call DCF at 1-888-369-4777 if you received benefits that you are not eligible for.
- 6. How do I set my pin for the Kansas Benefits Card?
 - You must call 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com. The letter that
 is received with your Kansas Benefits Card will inform you how to set your
 PIN. If you do not have a Social Security Number, please call DCF
 Customer Service 1-888-369-4777 first to assist you in the first step in
 setting up your new Kansas Benefits Card.
- 7. How do I check my balance on my Kansas Benefits Card?
 - You may call 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com or download the EBT Edge app on your smart phone.
- 8. I currently receive public assistance and have a Kansas Benefits Card. Will P-EBT benefits be loaded to that card?
 - Yes, if eligible P-EBT benefits will be automatically added to your card.
- 9. I didn't receive my Kansas Benefits Card for P-EBT. What should I do?
 - Your Kansas Benefits Card will come separate from your notification letter received from DCF. Call 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com.
- 10. I lost my card. How do I get a new one?
 - If you lost your Kansas Benefits Card, call FIS at 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com.
- 11. What if I have issues with my Kansas Benefits Card?
 - If you need help with your Kansas Benefits Card, please call FIS at 1-800-997-6666 or visit www.ebtEDGE.com.
- 12.1 receive free or reduced-price meals for my children, would I be eligible for regular Food Assistance?
 - If you are eligible for free or reduced-price meals for your child(ren) your household may be eligible for regular Food Assistance. There are multiple ways to apply for Food Assistance. You can apply online by visiting our

- website at https://cssp.kees.ks.gov/apspssp/sspNonMed.portal or call 1-888-369-4777 to request an application be mailed to you.
- You may also stop by a local DCF Service Center to pick up an application. The Harvesters SNAP Outreach Team can also help you determine if you are eligible for Food Assistance. You may call them at 1-877-653-9522 or visit the website at https://www.harvesters.org/get-food-assistance/snap-assistance.