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FAMILY FOSTER HOMES FOR CHILDREN AND YOUTH 

K.A.R. 28-4-311.  Definition. 

“Family foster home” means a child care facility that is a private residence, including any 
adjacent grounds, in which a licensee provides care for 24 hours a day for one or more children 
in foster care and for which a license is required by K.A.R. 28-4-801. 

 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-503 and 65-508; effective, E-81-22, 
Aug. 27, 1980; effective May 1, 1981; amended March 28, 2008.) 
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REGULATIONS FOR FAMILY FOSTER HOMES FOR CHILDREN 
 
K.A.R. 28-4-800.  Definitions.  For the purposes of K.A.R. 28-4-800 through K.A.R. 28-4-825, 
the following definitions shall apply: 

 
(a) “Age-mates” means children whose difference in age does not exceed three years. 

 
(b) “Applicant” means an individual who has applied for a license but who has not yet been 

granted a license to operate a family foster home.  This term shall include an applicant 
who has been granted a temporary permit to operate a family foster home. 

 
(c) “Basement” means the lowest level or story of a family foster home that has its floor 

below ground level on all sides. 
 
(d) “Caregiver” means any individual who provides care to a child in foster care in or away 

from the family foster home, including the following: 
 

(1) An applicant who has been granted a temporary permit to operate a family foster 
home or a licensee; 

 
(2) a substitute caregiver; 

 
(3) an adult member of a family providing informal visitation; 

 
(4) an individual who comes into the family foster home to provide care when the 

licensee is present; and 
 

(5) any respite care provider. 
 
(e) “Case plan” means the comprehensive written plan of care developed for each child in 

foster care by the child’s child-placing agent. 
 
(f) “Child in foster care” means either of the following: 

 
(1) Any individual under 16 years of age who is placed for care in a family foster 

home; or 
 

(2) any individual who is at least 16 years of age but not yet 23 years of age and who 
is in the custody of the state of Kansas and is placed for care in a family foster 
home. 

 
(g)       “Child-placing agent” means a person that possesses the legal right to place a child into a 

family foster home.  This term shall include the child’s parent, legal guardian, a public or 
private child-placing agency, and the court. 

 
(h) “De-escalation methods” means types of intervention used to help reduce a child’s level 

of anxiety or anger.  This term shall include physical restraint. 
 
(i) “Department” means the Kansas department of health and environment. 
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(j) “Discipline” means positive methods of child behavior management, including 
instruction, redirection, and de-escalation methods. 

 
(k)     “Exception” means a waiver of compliance with a specific family foster home regulation 

or any portion of a specific family foster home regulation that is granted by the secretary 
to an applicant or a licensee. 

 
(l) “Exotic animal” means either of the following: 

 
(1) Any non-human mammal that is not one of the following: 

 
(A) A domesticated dog, a domesticated cat, a feral cat, or a domesticated 

ferret; 
 

(B) a hoofed animal, including a cow, sheep, goat, pig, and llama, that is kept 
for farming or ranching purposes; 

 
(C) a horse; 

 
(D) a pet rabbit; or 

 
(E) a pet rodent, including a mouse, rat, hamster, gerbil, guinea pig, and 

chinchilla; or 
 

(F) a potbellied pig; or 
 

(2) any animal that typically lives in the wild and is determined by the secretary to be 
a substantial threat to the health and safety of a child in foster care. 

(m) “Family foster home” means a type of child care facility as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-311. 

(n) “Foster family” means all of the individuals living in a family foster home other than the 
child in foster care. 

 
(o) “High-risk sport or recreational activity” means any sport or recreational activity, 

including watercraft activities and motorized activities, that poses a significant risk of 
injury to the participant.  Safe participation in the activity shall require specialized 
instruction and may require protective safety gear. 

 
(p) “Informal visitation” means visitation by a child in foster care in the home of an extended 

family member of the licensee that is for 48 hours or less each month and that is for the 
purpose of normal socialization for the child in foster care. 

 
(q) “Licensee” means an individual who has been granted a license to operate a family foster 

home. 
 
(r) “Living space” means the rooms in a family foster home that are used for family 

activities, including the living room, dining room, family room, game or television room, 
and sleeping rooms.  This term shall not include bathrooms, laundry rooms, and garages. 
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(s) “Long-term respite care” means respite care that is provided to a child in foster care for 
24 hours or more each week. 

 
(t) “Physical restraint” means the bodily holding of a child in foster care by a caregiver 

as a means to help the child regain self-control when the child is behaving in a manner 
that presents a danger to self or others. 

 
(u) “Respite care” means the temporary care of a child in foster care in a family foster home 

other than the family foster home in which the child is placed.  This term shall not 
include any activity that is solely for the purpose of socialization of a child in foster care. 

(v) “Secretary” means the secretary of the Kansas department of health and environment. 

(w) “Short-term respite care” means respite care that is provided to a child in foster care for 
less than 24 hours each week. 

 
(x) “Sleepover” means an overnight social event with age-mates, away from the family foster 

home, that does not exceed a 24-hour period. 
 
(y) “Smoking” means being in possession of a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, or burning 

tobacco in any device. 
 
(z) “Sponsoring child-placing agency” means the public or private child-placing agency 

responsible for sponsoring the family foster home, including providing assessment, 
training, support, inspection, and monitoring for the licensee’s compliance with the 
regulations governing family foster homes. 

 
(aa) “Substitute caregiver” means an individual who provides care and supervision in the 

family foster home for a child in foster care in the absence of the licensee. 
 
(bb) “Water hazard” means a body of water at least 24 inches deep that is not a swimming 

pool, wading pool, or hot tub. 
 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-503, 65-504, and 65-508; effective 
March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-801.  License required. 

 
(a) An individual shall obtain a license to operate a family foster home when providing 24- 

hour care to one or more children under 16 years of age who are unrelated to the 
individual, in the absence of the child’s parent or guardian. 

 
(b) No individual shall be required to obtain a license to operate a family foster home under 

any of the following circumstances: 
 

(1) All of the following conditions are met: 
 

(A) The individual provides 24-hour care for one or more children less than 16 
years of age. 
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(B) The total number of days the individual provides care does not exceed 90 
calendar days during a calendar year. 

 
(C) The individual does not receive payment or other compensation for 

providing care. 
 

(D) The individual does not provide care for any children who are in the 
custody of the state of Kansas. 

 
(E) The individual does not provide care for any children placed in Kansas 

from other states through the interstate compact for the placement of 
children (ICPC) or any successor compact. 

 
(2) The individual provides care solely for the purpose of enabling the child to 

participate in a social activity that is normal for the child’s age and development. 

(3) The individual provides informal visitation as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-800. 

(Authorized by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-504 and K.S.A. 
2012 Supp. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008; amended Sept. 6, 2013.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-802.  License requirements.  Each individual shall meet all of the following 
requirements to obtain a license and to maintain a license: 

 
(a) Submit a complete application for a license on forms provided by the department, 

including requests for the background checks specified in K.A.R. 28-4-805; 
 
(b) be at least 21 years of age; 

 
(c) have sufficient income or resources to provide for the basic needs and financial 

obligations of the foster family and to maintain compliance with all regulations governing 
family foster homes; 

 
(d) participate in an initial family assessment, a family assessment for each renewal, and any 

additional family assessments conducted by the sponsoring child-placing agency.  Each 
family assessment shall include at least one individual interview with each household 
member at least seven years of age and at least one visit in the family foster home; 

 
(e) meet the training requirements in K.A.R. 28-4-806; and 

 
(f) obtain and maintain ongoing sponsorship by a public or private child-placing agency, 

including a recommendation by the sponsoring child-placing agency that the home be 
used for placement of children in foster care. 

 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-504 and 65-508; effective March 28, 
2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-803.  Licensing procedure.  The granting of a license to any applicant may be 
refused by the secretary if the applicant is not in compliance with the requirements of the 
following: 

 
(a)       K.S.A. 65-501 through 65-516, and amendments thereto; 

(b)       K.S.A. 65-523 through 65-529, and amendments thereto; 

(c)       K.S.A. 65-531, and amendments thereto; and 

(d) all regulations governing family foster homes. 
 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-504 and 65-508; effective March 28, 
2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-804.  Terms of license; validity of temporary permit or license; renewal of 
license; amendments; exceptions; withdrawal of application or request to close. 

 
(a) Terms of license. 

 
(1) A temporary permit or a license may be granted to an applicant for a maximum of 

four children in foster care, with a maximum total of six children in the home, 
including the applicant’s or licensee’s own children under 16 years of age.  There 
shall be no more than two children in the home under 18 months of age. 

 
(2) Each child in foster care shall be at least five years younger than the youngest 

applicant or licensee. 
 

(3) The maximum number of children and the age range authorized by the temporary 
permit or license shall not be exceeded and shall be limited by the following: 

 
(A) The number of sleeping rooms that meet the requirements of these 

regulations; 
 

(B) the assessment and recommendation of the sponsoring child-placing 
agency; and 

 
(C) the ability of the applicant or licensee to maintain compliance with the 

statutes and regulations governing family foster homes. 
 

(4) A license to maintain a family foster home shall not be granted or held in 
conjunction with any license or certificate authorizing another form of child care 
in a family foster home. 

 
(5) An applicant or a licensee shall not provide care in the family foster home to any 

adult unrelated to the applicant or licensee. 
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(b) Validity of temporary permit or license. 
 

(1) Each temporary permit or license shall be valid only for the individual or 
individuals and the address specified on the temporary permit or license. 

 
(2) Each temporary permit or license shall be posted conspicuously in the family 

foster home. 
 

(3)     When an initial or amended license becomes effective, all temporary permits or 
licenses previously granted to the applicant or licensee at the same address shall 
become void. 

 
(c) Renewal of license.   Before each renewal date, the licensee shall complete and submit an 

application for renewal on forms provided by the department, including requests for the 
background checks specified in K.A.R. 28-4-805. 

 
(d) Amendments.  Each licensee who intends to change the terms of the license, including 

the maximum number or the age of children served, shall submit a request for an 
amendment on a form supplied by the department. 

 
(e) Exceptions. 

 
(1) Any applicant or licensee may request an exception from the secretary.  Any 

request for an exception may be granted if the secretary determines that the 
exception is in the best interest of a child in foster care and the exception does not 
violate statutory requirements. 

 
(2) Written notice from the secretary stating the nature of the exception and its 

duration shall be kept on file in the family foster home and shall be readily 
accessible to the department, the child-placing agent, the sponsoring child-placing 
agency, the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services, and the 
Kansas juvenile justice authority. 

 
(f) Withdrawal of application or request to close.  Any applicant may withdraw the 

application for a license.  Any licensee may submit, at any time, a request to close the 
family foster home operated by the licensee.  If an application is withdrawn or a family 
foster home is closed, the current temporary permit or license granted to the applicant or 
licensee for that family foster home shall become void. 

 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-504, 65-505, and 65-508; effective 
March 28, 2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-805.  Background checks. 
 
(a) With each initial application or renewal application, the applicant or licensee shall submit 

a request to conduct a background check by the Kansas bureau of investigation and a 
background check by the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services in order 
to comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 65-516, and amendments thereto.  Each request 
shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department.  The request 
shall list the required information for the following: 

 
(1) Each individual 10 years of age and older who resides, works, or regularly 

volunteers in the family foster home, excluding children placed in foster care; 
 

(2) each caregiver 14 years of age and older; and 
 

(3) each resident of a home in which informal visitation occurs who is at least 10 
years of age. 

 
(b)    Each licensee shall submit a request to the department to conduct a background check by 

the Kansas bureau of investigation and a background check by the Kansas department of 
social and rehabilitation services before any of the following occurs: 

 
(1) A new individual at least 10 years of age begins residing, working, or regularly 

volunteering in the family foster home, excluding children placed in foster care. 
 

(2) A new caregiver at least 14 years of age begins caring for the child in foster care 
in the family foster home. 

 
(3) A new individual at least 10 years of age begins residing in a home in which 

informal visitation occurs. 
 
(c) Each individual submitting an initial application for a family foster home license shall 

obtain the following; 
 

(1) For each individual 18 years of age and older residing in the home, a child abuse 
and neglect background check from each previous state of residence throughout 
the five-year period before the date of application; and 

 
(2) for each applicant or licensee, a fingerprint-based background check from the 

national crime identification databases (NCID). 
 
(d) Each individual who received a family foster home license on or after July 1, 2007 shall 

obtain the following: 
 

(1) For each individual 18 years of age and older residing in the home, a child abuse 
and neglect background check from each previous state of residence throughout 
the five-year period before the date of application; and 

 
(2) for each licensee, a fingerprint-based background check from the national crime 

identification databases (NCID). 
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(e) Each licensee shall obtain background checks on any additional individual at least 10 
years of age who resides, works, or regularly volunteers in the family foster home if 
requested by the department or the sponsoring child-placing agency. 

 
(f) Background checks shall be obtained following the procedures of the department. 

 
(g) All fees associated with obtaining child abuse and neglect background checks from other 

states and NCID checks shall be the responsibility of the applicant or the licensee. 
 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-516; effective March 28, 
2008.) 

 
K.A.R.  28-4-806.  Training. 

 
(a) Prelicensure training.  Before a license is issued, each applicant shall participate in and 

successfully complete the following: 
 

(1) A face-to-face, instructor-led family foster home preparatory program approved 
by the department; 

 
(2) a face-to-face, instructor-led first aid training course that lasts at least three clock- 

hours; 
 

(3) training in universal precautions; and 
 

(4) medication administration training. 
 
(b) In-service training.  Each licensee shall obtain at least eight clock-hours of training in 

each licensing year, including at least two clock-hours obtained through participation in 
group training, including workshops, conferences, and academic coursework.  The 
training topics shall provide the opportunity to develop competency in two or more of the 
following areas: 

 
(1) Attachment issues and disorders; 

 
(2) behavior and guidance, including managing aggressive behavior and de-escalation 

methods, including the use of time-out; 
 

(3) child development; 
 

(4) communicating with the families of children in foster care; 

(5) constructive problem solving; 

(6) health; 
 

(7) home safety; 
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(8) human sexuality; 
 

(9) interactions with children; 
 

(10) regulations governing family foster homes; 

(11) medication administration; 

(12) post-traumatic stress disorder; 

(13) separation issues; and 

(14) specific topics related to children with special needs. 

(c) Additional training requirements. 

(1) Each licensee shall participate in any additional or alternative training required by 
the sponsoring child-placing agency. 

 
(2) Each caregiver using physical restraint shall have a current certificate 

documenting completion of physical restraint and de-escalation training approved 
by the secretary. 

 
(d) Failure to meet training requirements. 

 
(1) Each licensee who fails to meet training requirements for any licensing year shall 

complete a corrective action plan developed with the sponsoring child-placing 
agency to comply with prior licensing year requirements.  The training hours 
obtained under the corrective action plan shall apply only to the prior licensing 
year.  Failure to successfully complete the corrective action plan within 30 days 
after the initiation of the corrective action plan may result in an enforcement 
action. 

 
(2) Each corrective action plan shall include the licensee’s plan for maintaining 

compliance with this regulation. 
 

(3) A licensee shall not accept any new child for placement until the sponsoring 
child-placing agency documents that the corrective action plan has been 
successfully completed by the licensee and the training obtained by the licensee 
that meets the requirements of subsection (b). 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-807.  Reporting requirements for infectious or contagious disease; positive 
tuberculin test; critical incidents; abuse and neglect. 

 
(a) Reporting infectious or contagious disease.  Each licensee shall be responsible for 

reporting if any resident of the family foster home, including a child in foster care, 
contracts a reportable infectious or contagious disease specified in K.A.R. 28-1-2 as 
follows: 

 
(1) Each licensee shall report the disease to the local county health department by the 

next working day.  Each licensee shall follow the protocol recommended by the 
county health department and shall cooperate with any investigation, disease 
control, or surveillance procedures initiated by the county health department or 
the department. 

 
(2) Each licensee shall notify the sponsoring child-placing agency of the incident for 

each child in foster care. 
 
(b)     Hospitalization or emergency room care.  If a child in foster care requires hospitalization 

or emergency room care, the licensee shall notify the sponsoring child-placing agency in 
accordance with the sponsoring child-placing agency’s policies and procedures. 

 
(c) Positive tuberculin test.  If any individual residing, working, or volunteering in the family 

foster home who is required to have tuberculin testing has a positive tuberculin test, each 
licensee shall report the results to the department’s TB control program by the next 
working day. 

 
(d) Reporting critical incidents. 

 
(1) Each licensee shall report any of the following critical incidents immediately to 

the child’s child-placing agent and the sponsoring child-placing agency: 
 

(A) Fire damage or other damage to the dwelling or damage to the property 
that affects the structure of the dwelling or the safety of the child in foster 
care; 

 
(B) a vehicle accident involving any child in foster care; 

(C) a missing or runaway child in foster care; 

(D) the physical restraint of a child in foster care; 
 

(E) the injury of a child in foster care that requires medical attention; 

(F) the death of a child or any other resident of the family foster home; 

(G) the arrest of a child in foster care; 

(H) any incident involving the presence of law enforcement; 
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(I) all complaint investigations by the department or the Kansas department 
of social and rehabilitation services; and 

 
(J) any other incident that jeopardizes the safety of a child in foster care. 

 
(2) Each licensee shall submit a written report for each critical incident specified in 

paragraph (d)(1) to the sponsoring child-placing agency by the next working day. 
This report shall contain the following information: 

 
(A) The child’s name and birth date; 

(B) the date and time of the incident; 

(C) a factual summary of the incident, including the name of each individual 
involved; 

 
(D) a factual summary of the immediate action taken, including the name of 

each individual involved; 
 

(E) the signature of the licensee; and 
 

(F) the date of the report. 
 

(3) Each licensee shall ensure that a report is submitted to the department by the next 
working day.  The report shall contain all known facts concerning the time, place, 
manner, and circumstances of the death of a child in foster care or any individual 
living in the family foster home. 

 
(4) A copy of each critical incident report shall be kept on file at the family foster 

home. 
 
(e) Reporting abuse and neglect. 

 
(1) For the purposes of this subsection, “neglect,” “physical, mental, or emotional 

abuse,” and “sexual abuse” shall have the meanings specified in K.S.A. 38-2202, 
and amendments thereto. 

 
(2) Each caregiver shall report any suspected neglect, physical, mental, or emotional 

abuse, and sexual abuse of a child in foster care within 24 hours of discovery, by 
telephone or in writing, to the secretary of the Kansas department of social and 
rehabilitation services or to the local law enforcement agency. 

 
(3) Each licensee shall notify the sponsoring child-placing agency of suspected 

neglect, physical, mental, or emotional abuse, and sexual abuse of a child in foster 
care within 24 hours of discovery, by telephone or in writing. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 



37  

K.A.R. 28-4-808.  Recordkeeping requirements; confidentiality.  Each licensee shall ensure 
that all records pertaining to the licensure and operation of the family foster home, including the 
records specified within this regulation, are kept at the family foster home and are accessible to 
the secretary and the sponsoring child-placing agency. 

 
(a) Family foster home records.  Each licensee shall keep the following documents in the 

family foster home: 
 

(1) The sponsoring child-placing agency’s approval for any of the following, if 
applicable: 

 
(A) Approval for the licensee to provide respite care; 

(B) approval for use of informal visitation; and 

(C) an approved outdoor safety plan; 
 

(2) a copy of the safety rules for the use of the swimming, wading pools, or hot tubs 
posted as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-824; 

 
(3) any exceptions that have been granted; 

 
(4) a copy of the regulations governing family foster homes; 

 
(5) documentation of the information submitted for background checks as specified in 

K.A.R. 28-4-805; 
 

(6) a copy of the licensee’s documentation of each critical incident for each child in 
foster care as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-807; 

 
(7) a copy of the record of each rabies vaccination for each domesticated dog and 

each domesticated cat owned by any occupant of the family foster home; and 
 

(8) documentation of accident and liability insurance for each vehicle used to 
transport children in foster care. 

 
(b) Caregiver records.  A file that contains the following information shall be kept for each 

caregiver: 
 

(1) Documentation of the training specified in K.A.R. 28-4-806; 
 

(2) a health assessment that meets the requirements in K.A.R. 28-4-819 and 
documentation of a negative tuberculosis test or chest X-ray; 

 
(3) a copy of a valid driver’s license, if applicable.  A copy of the license shall also be 

provided to the sponsoring child-placing agency; and 
 

(4) all information for the extended family members identified for informal visitation, 
as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-814. 
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(c) Foster family members 16 years of age and older.  The record for each child 16 years of 
age and older, excluding children placed in foster care, shall include the following 
information: 

 
(1) A health assessment that meets the requirements specified in K.A.R. 28-4-819 and 

documentation of any negative tuberculosis test or chest X-ray; 
 

(2) a current immunization record; and 
 

(3) a copy of a valid driver’s license, if transporting any child in foster care.  A copy 
of the license shall also be provided to the sponsoring child-placing agency. 

 
(d) Foster family members less than 16 years of age.  The records for each child less than 16 

years of age who was born to, or adopted by, the licensee shall include a health 
assessment that meets the requirements in K.A.R. 28-4-819 and documentation of 
immunizations as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-819. 

 
(e) Child in foster care.  Each licensee shall keep a file for each child in foster care that 

contains the following information: 
 

(1) All required placement information specified in K.A.R. 28-4-809; 
 

(2) authorization, if any, regarding disclosure of confidential information for the 
child in foster care; 

 
(3) documentation, if applicable, of a case plan authorizing the use of physical 

restraint; 
 

(4) documentation, if applicable, of each use of physical restraint on a physical 
restraint report form as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-815; 

 
(5) medical and surgical consent forms; 

 
(6) the name, address, and telephone number of a physician to be called in case of 

emergency; and 
 

(7) the medical information record specified in K.A.R. 28-4-819. 
 
(f) Confidentiality of records of each child in foster care.  Each licensee shall keep each 

child’s recorded information confidential.  The records shall be kept on file at the family 
foster home in a manner that ensures confidentiality.  Nothing in this regulation shall 
prevent access to the child’s records by the child’s child-placing agent, the sponsoring 
child-placing agency, the department, law enforcement, or the court. 

 
(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-507 and 65-508; effective March 28, 
2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-809.  Basic placement information; other required placement information; 
departure requirements. 

 
(a) Basic placement information.  Any licensee may accept a child in foster care for 

placement if the following information is received before or at the time of placement: 
 

(1) The approval of the sponsoring child-placing agency; 
 

(2) signed medical and surgical consent forms or, in the case of an after-hours 
emergency placement, a provision for obtaining medical and surgical consent 
forms; 

 
(3) a completed placement agreement or a completed emergency placement form; 

 
(4) a description of the circumstances leading to the current placement and, if known, 

the reason the child in foster care came into custody; 
 

(5) a description of the child’s recent circumstances, including any medical problems, 
mental health concerns, and safety concerns, including any assaultive behavior 
and victimization concerns, if known; 

 
(6) information about the child’s medication and dietary needs, and the name of each 

of the child’s current health care providers, if known; 
 

(7) any allergies from which the child suffers, if known; and 
 

(8) the name, address, and telephone number of the contact individual for the last 
educational program the child attended. 

 
(b) Other required placement information. 

 
(1) No later than 14 calendar days after placement, each licensee shall review the 

following information: 
 

(A) A copy of the court order or other document authorizing the child-placing 
agent to place the child in foster care; 

 
(B) a designation of the race or cultural heritage of the child, including tribal 

affiliation, if any; 
 

(C) a completed and signed placement agreement, including emergency 
contact information, if not received at the time of placement; 

 
(D) signed medical and surgical consent forms, if not received at the time of 

placement; 
 

(E) the name, address, and telephone number of the child’s parents or legal 
guardian; 
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(F) the spiritual or religious affiliation of the child and the child’s family; 
 

(G) the child’s placement history summary, including the name, address, and 
telephone number of any advocates; 

 
(H) a description of positive attributes and characteristics of the child and, if 

available, any related information from the child, the child’s family 
including siblings, and concerned individuals in the child’s life; 

 
(I) the name, address, telephone number, and, if applicable, the e-mail 

address of the child-placing agent who is responsible for supervising the 
child’s placement; and 

 
(J) a copy of the current case plan, if completed.  If this plan has not been 

completed, the licensee shall obtain a copy within 14 calendar days of the 
completion of the plan. 

 
(2) If the licensee does not have the information specified in paragraph (b)(1), the 

licensee shall request the information from the sponsoring child-placing agency 
and shall document the request. 

 
(c) Departure requirements.  When any child in foster care moves from the family foster 

home, the licensee shall send the following with the child: 
 

(1) All possessions brought with the child in foster care to the family foster home that 
are usable or that have special significance to the child; 

 
(2) all savings from gifts, allowances, and earnings; 

 
(3) all usable clothing, school supplies, recreational equipment, gifts, and any other 

items purchased specifically for and given to the child during placement in the 
family foster home, including items provided by the foster parents; and 

 
(4) the child’s life book, which may include birth family history, placement history, 

pictures, school information, and a record of personal achievements. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-810.  Case plan. 

 
(a) Each licensee shall be an active participant on the case-planning team with each child’s 

child-placing agent, the sponsoring child-placing agency, and other appropriate parties to 
develop and implement the child’s case plan. 

 
(b) The licensee’s participation shall include the following: 
 

(1) Identifying and sharing information, as appropriate, with individuals who are 
directly involved in the child’s case plan, including any treatment outcomes the 
child achieves while in the family foster home and the attainment of  
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 developmentally appropriate life skills that the child needs to become functional 
in the community; 

 
(2) reporting the child’s behaviors and other important information to the child’s 

child-placing agent, the sponsoring child-placing agency, and others as indicated 
in the child’s case plan; 

 
(3) recommending changes in the child’s case plan to the child’s child-placing agent, 

if needed, including any approval needed for special activities or privileges, and 
participating in the case-planning conferences for the child; and 

 
(4) giving the child-placing agent additional significant information about the child in 

foster care as it becomes known. 
 
(c) A licensee shall not disclose medical or social information relating to any child in 

foster care without authorization from the child's child-placing agent, unless the 
disclosure is directly related to obtaining necessary services for the child or to ensuring 
safe involvement in age-appropriate activities. 

 
(d) In order to meet the needs of each child placed in the home, each licensee shall 

implement the provisions assigned to the licensee in the case plan and shall follow the 
policies of the sponsoring child-placing agency for the care of the child. 

 
(e) Each licensee shall seek consultation and direction from the child’s child-placing agent or 

the sponsoring child-placing agency if issues arise that cannot be resolved between the 
licensee and the child in foster care. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-811.  Caregiver qualifications; supervision. 

 
(a) Caregiver qualifications.  Each caregiver shall be qualified by the temperament, 

emotional maturity, judgment, and the understanding of children necessary to maintain 
the health, comfort, safety, and welfare of children in foster care pursuant to K.S.A. 65- 
504 and 65-508, and amendments thereto. 

 
(b) General supervision.  Each licensee shall ensure that each child in foster care is 

supervised in accordance with the child’s age, maturity, risk factors, and developmental 
level.  Additional supervision shall be provided for any child in foster care of any age in 
any of the following situations: 

 
(1) The child has mental health issues that place the child at higher concern for risk- 

taking behaviors that could result in unintentional injury or drowning. 
 

(2) The child would be a danger to self or others. 
 
(3) The child functions below the child’s chronological age level. 

(4) The child is unable to engage in self-care. 
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(c) Substitute care and supervision.  Each licensee shall ensure that substitute care and 
supervision are provided in each of the following situations: 

 
(1) During the absence of the licensee between the hours of six a.m. and midnight, 

the following requirements shall apply: 
 

(A)     For an absence of less than four hours, the substitute caregiver shall be at 
least 14 years of age and at least three years older than the oldest child in 
foster care; and 

 
(B) for an absence of four to 10 hours, the substitute caregiver shall be at least 

16 years of age and at least three years older than the oldest child in foster 
care. 

 
(2) In the absence of the licensee for more than 10 hours or for any period between 

the hours of midnight and six a.m., the substitute caregiver shall be at least 18 
years of age and at least three years older than the oldest child in foster care. 

 
(d) Self-care.  Any child in foster care at least 12 years of age may be permitted to stay at 

home without adult supervision for certain periods of time between the hours of six a.m. 
and midnight if all of the following requirements and conditions are met: 

 
(1) The potential for self-care is identified and written approval is included in the 

child’s case plan. 
 

(2) Each child in foster care’s specific risk factors, including age, maturity level, 
behavior disorders, suicidal tendencies, developmental delays, thrill-seeking 
behavior, and difficulty with anger control, shall be considered in developing the 
self-care plan. 

 
(3) Each licensee has established a written self-care plan for the care and supervision 

for each child in foster care in the home in the absence of the licensee.  The 
written self-care plan shall take into consideration the number of children in the 
home, the behavior, emotional stability, and maturity level of the children in the 
home, and any neighborhood safety issues.  The self-care plan shall be approved 
by the sponsoring child-placing agency and the child’s child-placing agent. 

 
(4) Only children residing in the home may be present during self-care. 

 
(5) The following minimum age and maximum time limits for self-care for each child 

in foster care shall apply: 
 

(A) Any child who is at least 12 years of age may be in self-care for a 
maximum of two consecutive hours, for no more than four hours each day. 

 
(B) Any child who is at least 14 years of age may be in self-care for no more 

than four hours each day. 
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(C) Any child who is at least 16 years of age may be in self-care for no more 
than 10 hours each day. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-812.  Respite care. 

 
(a) Requirements.  Respite care may be provided for a child placed in another foster home if 

both of the following requirements are met: 
 

(1) The respite care provider shall be in compliance with all regulations governing 
family foster homes. 

 
(2) The sponsoring child-placing agency shall have approved the family foster home 

to provide respite care and the written approval is on file in the family foster 
home. 

 
(b) Short-term respite care.  The number and age range authorized by the temporary permit 

or the license may be exceeded by a maximum of two additional children in foster care or 
a sibling group of any size.  If short-term respite care is provided during sleeping hours, 
an individual bed shall be available for each child. 

 
(c) Long-term respite care.  Long-term respite care may be provided if the addition of the 

child in foster care to be receiving long-term respite care does not cause the license 
capacity for the family foster home in which respite care will be provided to be exceeded. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-813.  Child growth and development. 

 
(a) Social development.  Each licensee shall provide for the growth and development of each 

child in foster care by providing the following: 
 

(1) Contact with the family of the child in foster care in accordance with the case plan 
prepared by the child’s child-placing agent; 

 
(2) access to individual, school, and community recreational activities according to 

the child’s age and interest; and 
 

(3) privacy. 
 
(b) Culture and religion.  Each licensee shall meet the cultural and religious needs of each 

child in foster care placed in the family foster home. 
 
(c) Recreational development.  Each licensee shall provide an adequate supply of play 

equipment, materials, and books that meet the following requirements: 
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(1) Are suitable to the developmental needs and interests of each child in foster care; 
and 

 
(2) are safe, clean, and in good repair. 

 
(d) Education and basic skills.  Each licensee shall provide the following to each child in 

foster care: 
 

(1) Facilitation of the child’s timely enrollment and school attendance in a local 
school district or, when appropriate, the child’s district of residence and 
facilitation of the child’s regular attendance at school or any other place of 
instruction in accordance with the child's individual education plan; and 

 
(2) assistance to each child in learning basic life skills that allow the opportunity 

to improve self-concept and strengthen identity in preparation for life after foster 
care. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-814.  Family life. 

 
(a)       Family activities.  Taking into consideration the age, needs, and case plan of each child in 

foster care, each licensee shall provide the following opportunities for each child in foster 
care: 

 
(1) Inclusion of the child in foster care in the daily life of the family, including eating 

meals with the family and participating in recreational activities; 
 

(2) ensuring that each child in foster care is provided with the same opportunities that 
are provided to the other children residing in the home; and 

 
(3) ensuring that each child in foster care is provided access to schools, church, 

recreational and health facilities, and other community resources. 
 

(b)     Daily routine.  Each licensee shall provide a daily routine in accordance with the age and 
needs of each child in foster care that includes the following: 

 
(1) Active and quiet play, both indoors and outdoors, weather permitting; 

(2) rest and sleep; and 

(3) nutritious meals and snacks. 

(c) Essential and special items. 

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that each child in foster care is provided with essential 
items to meet each child’s needs, including the following: 
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(A) Food and shelter; 
 

(B) nonprescription medical needs; 

(C) clothing and shoes; 

(D) toiletries and personal hygiene products; and 
 

(E) birthday and holiday gifts. 
 

(2) Each licensee shall notify the sponsoring child-placing agency and the child’s 
child-placing agent when a licensee identifies a need for additional resources to 
provide a special item for a child in foster care.  Special items may include the 
following: 

 
(A) Clothing and fees for instructional or extracurricular activities; 

(B) school pictures; 

(C) athletic and band instrument fees; and 
 

(D) cap and gown rental and prom clothing. 
 
(d) Allowance.  Each licensee shall provide an allowance to each child in foster care 

equal to that of any other children of similar age in the family foster home who receive an 
allowance. 

 
(e) Work opportunity.  Each child in foster care shall have the opportunity to earn spending 

money at tasks or jobs according to the child’s age, ability, and case plan.  The money 
shall be the child’s, and the child shall not be forced to provide for needs that otherwise 
would be provided by the licensee. 

 
(f) Routine tasks.  Each licensee shall permit each child in foster care to perform only those 

routine tasks that are within the child’s ability, are reasonable, and are similar to the 
routine tasks expected of other members of the household of similar age and ability. 

 
(g) Informal visitation.  Any licensee may identify extended family members 18 years of age 

and older as resources for informal visitation. 
 

(1) For each extended family member identified as a resource, each licensee shall 
meet the following requirements: 

 
(A) Describe the relationship of the individual to the licensee; 

(B) submit a request for background checks as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-805; 

(C) obtain a copy of the current driver’s license for each individual who could 
provide transportation during visitation; 
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(D) provide to the sponsoring child-placing agency documentation that each 
individual has read and agrees to follow the confidentiality policy and the 
discipline policy of the sponsoring child-placing agency; 

 
(E) ensure that each individual has emergency contact numbers and a crisis 

plan in case of emergency; and 
 

(F) ensure that either an original or a copy of each medical consent form and 
each health assessment is provided for each child in foster care 
participating in informal visitation. 

 
(2) Each licensee shall obtain the sponsoring child-placing agency’s approval of the 

informal visitation plan before using informal visitation. 
 

(3) Each licensee shall provide the sponsoring child-placing agency with the 
information specified in paragraphs (g)(1)(A) through (F) and shall keep a copy 
on file in the family foster home. 

 
(4) Each licensee shall report the following to the sponsoring child-placing agency: 

(A) The date on which each informal visitation occurs; and 

(B) the identified extended family member’s name and address. 
 

(5) Each licensee shall ensure that both of the following conditions are met: 
 

(A) Each identified extended family member 18 years of age and older is 
informed of the content of the regulations governing family foster homes. 

 
(B) Supervision that ensures the health, safety, and welfare of each child in 

foster care is provided by an individual 18 years of age and older. 
 
(h)      Sleepovers.  Any licensee may permit a child in foster care to participate in sleepovers in 

unlicensed homes if all of the following conditions are met: 
 

(1) The purpose of the stay is to allow the child to participate in a social event that is 
normal for the child’s age and development. 

 
(2) Participation in sleepovers is not precluded in the child’s case plan. 

 
(3) The licensee confirms the invitation with the parent of the child to be visited and 

determines that supervision will be provided by an individual 18 years of age and 
older to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the child. 

 
(i)       High-risk sport or recreational activity.  Any licensee may permit a child in foster care to 

engage in any high-risk sport or recreational activity if all of the following conditions are 
met: 
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(1) Written permission for the specific activity is obtained from the parent, legal 
guardian, or legal custodian of the child in foster care and from the child’s child- 
placing agent. 

 
(2) The licensee assesses the individual child-specific risk factors before giving 

permission.  These factors shall include the age and maturity level of the child, 
behavior disorders, suicidal tendencies, developmental delays, thrill-seeking 
behavior, and difficulty with anger control. 

 
(3) Protective safety gear is used, if required for the sport or activity. 

 
(4)      A safety plan is developed and followed.  This plan shall include instruction on 

the activity and compliance with any manufacturer’s specifications and general 
safety guidelines. 

 
(5) Direct supervision by an individual 18 years of age and older is provided to 

ensure safe participation. 

(j) The use of trampolines in home settings shall be prohibited for children in foster care. 

(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008; 
amended Sept. 6, 2013.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-815.  Behavior management practices; prohibited punishment; physical 
restraint; notification requirements. 

 
(a) Behavior management practices. 

 
(1) Each licensee shall ensure that positive methods are used for behavior 

management that are appropriate to the age and developmental level of the child 
in foster care and encourage cooperation, self-direction, and independence. 

 
(2) Each caregiver shall use methods of behavior management that are designed to 

help each child in foster care develop inner controls and manage the child's own 
behavior in a socially acceptable manner. 

 
(3)      If time-out is used to manage behavior, the child in foster care shall remain in 

time-out in accordance with the child’s age and developmental level and only 
long enough to regain self-control. 

 
 (4) For each child in foster care who is not able to develop self-control or self- 

management, behavior management techniques shall be approved, in writing, by 
the case planning team. 

 
(b) Prohibited punishment. 

 
 (1) No individual shall use any of the following means or methods of punishment of a 

child: 
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(A) Punishment that is humiliating, frightening, or physically harmful to the 
child; 

 
(B) corporal punishment, including hitting with the hand or any object, 

yanking arms or pulling hair, excessive exercise, exposure to extreme 
temperatures, or any other measure that produces physical pain or 
threatens the child’s health or safety; 

 
(C) restricting movement by tying or binding; 

 
(D) confining a child in a closet, box, or locked area; 

(E) forcing or withholding food, rest, or toilet use; 

(F) refusing a child access to the family foster home; 
 

(G) mental and emotional cruelty, including verbal abuse, derogatory remarks 
about a child in foster care or the child’s family, statements intended to 
shame, threaten, humiliate, or frighten the child, or threats to expel a child 
from the home; and 

 
(H) placing soap, or any other substance that stings, burns, or has a bitter taste, 

in the child’s mouth or on the tongue or any other part of the child’s body. 
 
(2) Each caregiver shall be prohibited from giving medications, herbal or folk 

remedies, and drugs to control or manage behavior, except as prescribed by the 
licensed physician or licensed nurse practitioner of the child in foster care. 

 
(3) No child in foster care shall be forced to participate in publicity or promotional 

activities. 
 

(4) Each caregiver shall be prohibited from publicly identifying any child in foster 
care to the embarrassment of the child. 

 
(5) No child in foster care shall be forced to acknowledge dependency on the family 

foster home or to express gratitude to the licensee. 
 

(6) Each caregiver shall be prohibited from using physical restraint to manage 
behavior unless all of the requirements of subsection (c) are met. 

 
 
(c) Physical restraint. 

 
(1) Each caregiver shall ensure that before using physical restraint, other de- 

escalation methods are used.  If other de-escalation methods fail and the behavior 
of the child in foster care makes physical restraint necessary for the child's own 
protection or the protection of others, the child shall be held as gently as possible 
to manage the child’s behavior. 

 
(2) No bonds, ties, or straps shall be used to restrict movement.  The child in foster 

care shall be held only until one of the following is achieved: 
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(A) The child regains behavioral control. 
 

(B) The child is no longer a threat to self or others. 
 

(C) The restraint has lasted 20 minutes with no improvement in the child’s 
behavior. 

 
(3) Each caregiver using physical restraint in any situation other than an emergency 

shall have a current certificate on file documenting the training in de-escalation 
methods and physical restraint procedures and techniques specified in K.A.R. 28- 
4-806. 

 
(4) The licensee shall have on file a case plan authorizing the use of physical 

restraint for each child in foster care whose behavior cannot be managed by other 
less intrusive methods and whose behavior requires the use of ongoing physical 
restraint on a recurring basis for the child's protection or the protection of others. 

 
(d) Notification requirements.  Each caregiver shall inform the child’s child-placing agent 

and the sponsoring child-placing agency each time physical restraint is used. 
 

(1) The licensee shall document each use of physical restraint on a form that contains 
the following: 
 
(A) The child’s name and birth date; 

 
(B) the date and the start and end times of the physical restraint; 

 
(C) a description of the other de-escalation methods attempted before the use 

of physical restraint; 
 

(D) a description of the child’s behaviors and condition and the incidents that 
led to the use of physical restraint; 

 
(E) a description of the child’s behavior during and following the physical 

restraint; 
 

(F) a description of any follow-up actions taken; 
 

(G) the name of the individual who used physical restraint on the child; and 

(H) the name of the licensee completing the report and the date completed. 

(2) Each licensee shall file the report with the sponsoring child-placing agency no 
later than the next working day following the use of physical restraint.  The use of 
physical restraint as an emergency intervention shall be reported to the sponsoring 
child-placing agency at the conclusion of the intervention when the child is no 
longer a danger to self or others. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-816.  Transportation.  Each licensee shall ensure that all of the following 
requirements are met: 

 
(a)       If a vehicle used for transportation of a child in foster care is owned or leased by a foster 

family member or is driven by a child in foster care, the following requirements shall be 
met: 

 
(1) Trailers pulled by another vehicle, camper shells, and truck beds shall not be used 

for the transportation of children in foster care. 
 

(2) The transporting vehicle shall be maintained in a safe operating condition. 
 

(3) The transporting vehicle shall be covered by accident and liability insurance as 
required by the state of Kansas. 

 
(4) A first-aid kit shall be in the transporting vehicle and shall include disposable 

nonporous gloves, a cleansing agent, scissors, bandages of assorted sizes, 
adhesive tape, a roll of gauze, one package of gauze squares at least four inches 
by four inches in size, and one elastic bandage. 

 
(b) Each driver of any vehicle that is used to transport any child in foster care shall hold a 

valid driver’s license appropriate for the type of vehicle being used. 
 
(c) The use of seat belts and child safety seats shall include the following: 

 
(1) Each individual shall be secured by the use of a seat belt or a child safety seat 

when the vehicle is in motion. 
 

(2) No more than one individual shall be secured in any seat belt or child safety seat. 

(3) Each seat belt shall be properly anchored to the vehicle. 

(4) When a child safety seat, including booster seat, is required, the seat shall meet 
the following requirements: 

 
(A) Have current federal approval; 

 
(B) be installed according to the manufacturer’s instructions and vehicle 

owner’s manual; 
 

(C) be appropriate to the height, weight, and physical condition of the child, 
according to the manufacturer’s instructions and Kansas statutes and 
regulations; 

 
(D) be maintained in a safe operating condition at all times; 

 
(E) have a label with the date of manufacture and model number, for use in 

case of a product recall; and 
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(F) have no missing parts or cracks in the frame and have not been in a crash. 

(d) The health and safety of the children riding in the vehicle shall be protected as follows: 

(1) All passenger doors shall be locked while the vehicle is in motion. 
 

(2) Order shall be maintained at all times.  The driver shall be responsible for 
ensuring that the vehicle is not in motion if the behavior of the occupants prevents 
safe operation of the vehicle. 

 
(3) All parts of each child's body shall remain inside the vehicle at all times. 

(4) Children shall neither enter nor exit from the vehicle from or into a lane of traffic. 

(5) Children less than 10 years of age shall not be left in a vehicle unattended by an 
adult.  When the vehicle is vacated, the driver shall make certain that no child is 
left in the vehicle. 

 
(6) Smoking in the vehicle shall be prohibited when a child in foster care is in 

placement in a family foster home, whether or not the child in foster care is 
physically present in the vehicle. 

 
(7) Medical and surgical consent forms and health assessment records shall be in the 

vehicle when a child in foster care is transported 60 miles or more from the family 
foster home. 

 
(e) Before a child in foster care is allowed to drive, all of the following requirements shall be 

met: 
 

(1) The licensee, child-placing agent, or sponsoring child-placing agency shall obtain 
permission from the parent or legal guardian. 

 
(2) The privilege of driving shall be included in the child’s case plan. 

 
(3) The child shall possess a valid driver’s license and shall meet the requirements of 

the Kansas motor vehicle drivers’ license act, K.S.A. 8-234a et seq. and 
amendments thereto. 

 
(f) Any resident of the home who is at least 16 years of age but not yet 18 years of age may 

transport a child in foster care who attends middle school or junior high school to and 
from school without an accompanying adult if all of the following conditions are met: 

 
(1) All of the requirements of subsections (a) through (e) are met. 

 
(2) The driver has a valid driver’s license and meets the requirements of the Kansas 

motor vehicle drivers’ license act, K.S.A. 8-234a et seq. and amendments thereto. 
 
(3) The parent or legal guardian of the child in foster care and the child’s child- 

placing agent give their written approval. 
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(g) Any child in foster care who attends high school may be transported to and from school, 
work, or social activities without an accompanying adult by a driver who is at least 16 
years of age but not yet 18 years of age if both of the following conditions are met: 

 
(1) The driver has a valid driver’s license and meets the requirements of the 

Kansas motor vehicle drivers’ license act K.S.A. 8-234a et seq. and 
amendments thereto. 

 
(2) The parent or legal guardian of the child in foster care and the child’s child- 

placing agent give their written approval. 
 
(h) Any child in foster care who is a parent and who meets the requirements of subsections 

(a) through (e) may transport any child of that parent. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing 2012 Supp. K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008; 
amended Sept. 6, 2013.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-817.  Nutrition; food handling and storage. 

 
(a) Each licensee shall ensure that, for each child in foster care, all of the following 

requirements are met: 
 

(1) Each child less than 12 months of age shall be held when bottle-fed until the child 
can hold the child’s own bottle. 

 
(2) No child shall be allowed to sleep with a bottle in the child’s mouth. 

 
(3) Prepared formula and juice shall be refrigerated until used.  Leftover formula and 

juice shall be refrigerated with the nipple covered and shall be used within 24 
hours. 

 
(4) For each child less than 12 months of age, solid foods shall be introduced in 

consultation with the child’s health care provider. 
 
(b) Nutritious meals and snacks shall be planned and shall be served in accordance with the 

food and drug administration’s recommended daily allowances. 
 
(c) A sufficient quantity of food shall be available to allow each child in foster care to have 

second servings of bread, milk, and either vegetables or fruit. 
 
(d) Only pasteurized milk products shall be served. 

 
(e) Food allergies and special dietary needs of each child in foster care shall be 

accommodated. 
 
(f) Dishes shall be either washed, rinsed, and stacked or placed in a dishwasher after each 

meal, but no later than the next day. 
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(g) Sanitary methods of food handling and storage shall be followed. 
 

(1) Each individual engaged in food preparation and food service shall use sanitary 
methods of food handling, food service, and storage. 

 
(2) Each individual involved in food handling shall wash the individual’s hands with 

soap and running water immediately before engaging in food preparation and 
service. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-818.  Storage and administration of medication. 

 
(a) Storage of medication.  Each licensee shall ensure that all prescription and 

nonprescription medication is kept in the original container at the recommended 
temperature in accordance with the instructions on the label and, except as specified in 
paragraph (e)(4), in locked storage and inaccessible to children. 

 
(b) Nonprescription medication. 

 
(1) When nonprescription medication is administered to any child in foster care, each 

caregiver shall administer the medication from the original container and 
according to instructions on the label. 

 
(2)       Substances including herbal supplements, folk remedies, natural medicines, and 

vitamin supplements other than a daily multivitamin shall be administered only 
with documented approval by a licensed medical practitioner. 

 
(c) Prescription medication.  When prescription medication is administered to a child in 

foster care, each licensee shall ensure compliance with the following requirements: 
 

(1) Prescription medication shall be administered only to the designated child and in 
accordance with instructions on the label. 

 
(2) Each prescription medication shall be kept in the original container labeled by a 

pharmacist with the following information: 
 

(A) The first and last name of the child; 

(B) the date the prescription was filled; 

(C) the name of the licensed physician who wrote or approved the 
prescription; 

 
(D) the expiration date of the medication; and 

 
(E) specific, legible instructions for administration and storage of the 

medication. 
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(3) The instructions on each label shall be considered the order from the licensed 
physician. 

 
(4) If a daily or weekly medication container is used for a child in foster care, all of 

the following requirements shall be met: 
 

(A) The medication container shall be labeled with the child’s name. 
 

(B)    The medication container shall be used only for medications that are not 
affected by exposure to air or light and that can touch other medications 
without affecting the efficacy of any of the medications. 

 
(C) The medications shall be placed in the medication container by the 

licensee. 
 

(D) Each dose shall be placed in the medication container according to the 
correct time of day. 

 
(E) The medication container shall be kept in locked storage. 

 
(F) The remainder of each of the child’s medications shall be stored in the 

respective original container until the prescription is completed or 
discontinued. 

 
(G) If any child in foster care is required to receive medication during a visit or 

during any absence from the foster home, all medication sent for the child 
shall be in containers that meet the requirements of paragraph (c)(2) and 
shall be given to the individual taking responsibility for the child. 

 
(H) When a child in foster care moves from the family foster home, all current 

medications shall be in the individual original containers and shall be 
given to the individual taking responsibility for the child. 

 
(I) At no time shall any medication be in the possession of a child in foster 

care, except as specified in paragraph (e)(4). 

(d) Requirements for administering prescription and nonprescription medication. 

(1) Before administering medication, each licensee shall receive training in 
medication administration as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-806.  Each licensee shall 
ensure that each individual administering medication knows the purpose, side 
effects, and possible contraindications of each medication. 

 
(2) (A) For prescription medications, each caregiver shall record on each child’s 

medication record the following information: 
 

(i) The name of the individual who administered each medication; 
 
(ii) the date and time the medication was given; 
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(iii) any change in the child's behavior, any response to the medication, 
or any adverse reaction; 

 
(iv) any change in the administration of the medication from the 

instructions on the label or a notation about each missed dose; and 
 

(v) any direction from the physician to change the order as written on 
the label. 

 
(B) Each medication record shall be signed by the caregiver and shall be made 

a part of the child’s medical record. 
 
(e) Self-administration of medication. 

 
(1) Any licensee may permit each child in foster care with a condition requiring 

prescription medication on a regular basis to self-administer the medication under 
adult supervision.  Each licensee shall obtain written permission for the child to 
self-administer medication from the licensed physician, licensed physician’s 
assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner treating the child’s condition. 

 
(2) Written permission for self-administration of medication shall be kept in the 

child's file at the family foster home. 
 

(3) Self-administration of each medication shall follow the procedures specified in 
paragraph (b)(2). 

 
(4) Each child in foster care who is authorized to self-administer medication shall 

have access to the child's medication for self-administration purposes.  The child 
shall have immediate access to medication prescribed for a condition for which 
timely treatment is a life-preserving requirement.  Each child with asthma, 
allergies, or any other life-threatening condition shall have immediate access to 
that child’s own medication for emergency purposes.  Each licensee shall ensure 
the safe storage of self-administered medication to prevent unauthorized access by 
others. 

 
(5) The date and time that each medication was self-administered shall be recorded 

on the child’s medication record.  Any noted adverse reactions shall be 
documented.  Each licensee shall review the record for accuracy and shall check 
the medication remaining in the container against the expected remaining doses. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-819.  Health care. 

 
(a) Infectious or contagious disease.  Each individual residing in the family foster home shall 

be free from any infectious or contagious disease specified in K.A.R. 28-1-6. 
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(b) Health of caregivers. 
 

(1) Each caregiver shall be in a state of physical, mental, and emotional health, as 
necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the children in foster care. 

 
(2) No caregiver shall be in a state of impaired ability due to the use of alcohol or 

other chemicals, including prescription and nonprescription drugs. 
 

(3) Each individual regularly caring for a child in foster care in the family foster 
home shall have a health assessment conducted by a physician with a current 
license to practice in Kansas or by a nurse with a current license to practice in 
Kansas who is approved to perform health assessments.  Each health assessment 
shall be conducted no earlier than one year before the date of the initial 
application for a license, employment, or volunteering and no later than 30 days 
after the date of the initial application, employment, or volunteering.  The results 
of each assessment shall be recorded on a form provided by the department. 

 
(4) If a caregiver experiences a significant change in the caregiver’s physical, mental, 

or emotional health, including indications of substance abuse, an assessment of 
the caregiver’s current health status may be requested by the secretary or by the 
sponsoring child-placing agency. 

 
(A) The assessment or evaluation shall be performed at the expense of the 

licensee or other caregiver and by a practitioner who is licensed or 
certified in Kansas to diagnose and treat the specific condition that is the 
basis for the assessment or evaluation. 

 
(B) Each licensee shall ensure that at least one potential practitioner has been 

approved by the requesting department or the sponsoring child-placing 
agency in order to have the assessment or evaluation accepted by the 
requesting department or child-placing agency. 

 
(C) Each licensee shall provide the requesting department or sponsoring child- 

placing agency with an executed release of medical information to enable 
the department or the child-placing agency to obtain information directly 
from the practitioner. 

 
(c) Health of the foster family members. 

 
(1) Each individual living in the family foster home, other than the child in foster 

care, shall have a health assessment conducted by a physician with a current 
license to practice in Kansas or by a nurse with a current license to practice in 
Kansas who is approved to perform health assessments.  Each assessment shall be 
conducted within one year before the date of application or the individual residing 
in the home and no later than 30 days after the date of the licensee’s initial 
application or the individual becoming a resident of the home.  The results of the 
health assessment shall be recorded on forms provided by the department. 
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(2) Each child born to or adopted by the licensee who is less than 16 years of age and 
is living in the home shall have current immunizations.  An exemption from this 
requirement shall be permitted only with one of the following: 

 
(A) A written certification from a physician with a current license to practice 

in Kansas stating that the physical condition of the child is such that the 
immunization would endanger the child's life or health; or 

 
(B)      a written statement from the child’s parent or legal guardian that the child 

is an adherent of a religious denomination whose teachings are opposed to 
immunizations. 

 
(d) Medical and dental health of each child in foster care. 

 
(1) Each licensee shall ensure that emergency and ongoing medical and dental care is 

obtained for each child in foster care by providing timely access to basic, 
emergency, and specialized medical, mental health, and dental care and treatment 
services provided by qualified practitioners. 

 
(2) Each licensee shall ensure that, at the time of the initial placement, each child in 

foster care has had a health assessment conducted within the past year by a 
physician with a current license to practice in Kansas or by a nurse with a current 
license to practice in Kansas who is approved to conduct assessments. 

 
(3) A health assessment shall be obtained annually for each child in foster care who is 

less than six years of age and every two years for each child in foster care who is 
six years of age and older. 

 
(4) Each health assessment required in paragraphs (d)(2) and (3) shall be on file at the 

family foster home within 30 days after the child’s placement in the home. 
 

(5) The immunizations for each child in foster care less than 16 years of age shall be 
current or in process at the time the license is issued.  An exemption from this 
requirement shall be permitted only with one of the following: 

 
(A) A written certification from a physician with a license to practice in 

Kansas stating that the physical condition of the child is such that the 
immunization would endanger the child's life or health; or 

 
(B)      a written statement from the child’s parent or legal guardian that the child 

is an adherent of a religious denomination whose teachings are opposed to 
immunizations. 

 
(6)        An annual dental examination shall be obtained for each child in foster care who 

is three years of age or older.  Follow-up care shall be provided.  The child’s 
dental record shall be recorded on forms provided by the department and shall be 
kept current. 
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(7) The medical information record for each child in foster care shall be kept current 
and shall document each illness, the action taken by the licensee, and the date of 
the child’s medical, psychological, or dental care.  When the child leaves the 
family foster home, the licensee shall ensure that the record, including the health 
assessments, dental records, medication administration record, immunization 
record, medical and surgical consent forms, and emergency medical treatment 
authorization, is given to the child’s child-placing agent. 

 
(e) Tuberculin testing. 

 
(1) Each individual 16 years of age and older living, working, or regularly 

volunteering in the family foster home and each child in foster care 16 years of 
age and older shall be required to have a record of a negative tuberculin test or X- 
ray obtained not more than two years before the employment or initial application 
for a license or shall obtain the required record no later than 30 days after the date 
of employment, initial application, or becoming a resident of or volunteer in the 
home. 

 
(2) Additional tuberculin testing shall be required if significant exposure to an active 

case of tuberculosis occurs or if symptoms compatible with tuberculosis develop. 
Proper treatment or prophylaxis shall be instituted, and the results of the follow- 
up shall be recorded on the individual's health record.  The department shall be 
informed of each occurrence described within this paragraph. 

 
(3) The results of each tuberculin test shall be recorded on, or attached to, the health 

assessment form and kept on file at the family foster home.  Each licensee shall 
report any positive tuberculin skin test to the department’s TB control program by 
the next working day. 

 
(4) A child in foster care less than 16 years of age shall not be required to have 

tuberculin tests unless the child has been recently exposed to tuberculosis or 
exhibits symptoms compatible with tuberculosis. 

 
(f) Tobacco use limitations. 

 
(1) To prevent exposure of a child in foster care to secondhand smoke, each licensee 

shall ensure that both of the following conditions are met: 
 

(A) Smoking is prohibited inside the family foster home when a child in foster 
care is in placement, whether the child is physically present on the 
premises or not. 

 
(B) Smoking by any member of the foster family is prohibited outside the 

family foster home within 10 feet of a child in foster care. 
 

(2) Each licensee shall prohibit smoking and the use of any other tobacco product by 
a child in foster care less than 18 years of age. 
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(g) Hand 
 

(1) 

washing. 
 

Each caregiver shall wash the caregiver’s hands with soap and water before 
  preparing food, before eating, after toileting, after petting animals, and after 

diapering or changing soiled clothing. 

  

(2) 
 

Each caregiver shall encourage each child in the family foster home to wash the 
child’s hands with soap and water before and after eating, after petting an animal, 
and after toileting. 

 

(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-507 and 65-508; effective March 28, 
2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-820.  General environmental requirements.  Each licensee shall ensure that 
all of the requirements in this regulation are met. 

 
(a) Local requirements.  Each family foster home shall meet the legal requirements of the 

community as to zoning, fire protection, water supply, and sewage disposal. 
 

(b) Sewage disposal.  If a private sewage disposal system is used, the system shall meet the 
requirements specified in K.A.R. 28-4-55. 

 
(c) Use of private water supply.  If a private water system is used, the system shall meet the 

requirements specified in K.A.R. 28-4-50.  The water supply shall be safe for human 
consumption.  Testing of the water supply shall be completed at the time of initial 
licensing and annually thereafter to document the nitrate and bacteria levels.  Additional 
testing may be required if there is a change in environmental conditions that could affect 
the integrity of the water supply.  If children less than 12 months of age receive care in a 
family foster home that uses private well water, then commercially bottled drinking water 
shall be used for these children until a laboratory test confirms that the nitrate content is 
not more than 10 milligrams per liter (10 mg/l) as nitrogen. 

 
(d)      Family foster home structural and furnishing requirements.  The family foster home shall 

be constructed, arranged, and maintained to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of 
all occupants and shall meet the following requirements: 

 
(1) The home shall contain sufficient furnishings and equipment to accommodate 

both the foster family and each child in foster care. 
 

(2) The floors shall be covered, painted, or sealed in all living areas of the home, kept 
clean, and maintained in good repair. 

 
(3) The interior finish of all ceilings, stairs, and hallways shall meet generally 

accepted standards of building, including safety requirements. 
 

(4) Each closet door shall be designed to be opened from the inside and shall be 
readily opened by a child. 
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(5)      Each stairway with two or more stairs and a landing shall have a handrail and 
be guarded on each side if there is a drop-off of more than 21 inches from the 
stairs or landing to the floor or ground. 

 
(6) If any stairway is guarded by balusters, and the family foster home is or is 

intended to be licensed for children in foster care less than six years of age, the 
space between balusters shall not exceed four inches, except as specified in this 
paragraph.  If the space between balusters exceeds four inches, the licensee shall 
make provisions necessary to prevent a child’s head from becoming entrapped 
in the balusters or a child’s body from falling through the balusters or becoming 
entrapped in them. 

 
(7) When a child in foster care less than three years of age is present, each stairway 

with two or more stairs and a landing shall be gated to prevent unsupervised 
access by the child.  Each gate shall have a latching device that an adult can open 
readily in an emergency.  Accordion gates shall be prohibited throughout the 
premises, and pressure gates shall be prohibited for use at the top of any 
stairway. 

 
(8) If the family foster home is or is intended to be licensed for children in foster 

care less than six years of age, each electrical outlet shall be covered. 
 

(9) At least one bathroom in the family foster home shall have at least one sink, 
one flush toilet, and one tub or shower.  All fixtures shall be working at all 
times. 

 
(10) Each bathroom shall have a solid door that affords privacy to the occupant and 

that can be opened from each side without the use of a key in case of an 
emergency. 

 
(11) A working telephone shall be on the premises and available for use at all times. 

Emergency telephone numbers shall be readily accessible or be posted next to 
the telephone for the police, fire department, ambulance, hospital or hospitals, 
and poison control center.  The name, address, and telephone number of the 
primary care physician used for each child in foster care shall be posted next to 
the telephone or readily accessible in case of an emergency. 

 
(12) A working smoke detector shall be centrally installed on each level of the 

home and in each room used for sleeping by a child in foster care and by the 
licensee. 

 
(13) One working carbon monoxide detector shall be installed according to the 

manufacturer’s instructions in an area adjacent to each room used for sleeping 
by a child in foster care and by the licensee. 

 
(e)      Cleanliness.  The interior of the family foster home shall be free from accumulation of 

visible dirt, any evidence of vermin infestation, and any objects or materials that 
could cause injury to children in foster care. 
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(f) Lighting and ventilation. 
 

(1) All rooms used for living space shall be lighted, vented, heated, and plumbed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-508, and amendments thereto. 

 
(2) Each window and door used for ventilation shall be screened to minimize the 

entry of insects. 
 

(3) The family foster home shall have lighting of at least 10 foot-candles in all parts 
of each room, within each living area of the home.  There shall be lighting of at 
least 30 foot-candles in each area used for reading, study, or other close work. 

 
(g) Firearms and other weapons. 

 
(1) No child in the home shall have unsupervised access to any of the following: 

(A) Firearms, ammunition, and other weapons; 

(B) air-powered guns, including BB guns, pellet guns, and paint ball guns; 

(C) hunting and fishing knives; and 

(D) any archery and martial arts equipment. 
 

(2) All firearms, including air-powered guns, BB guns, pellet guns, and paint ball 
guns, shall be stored unloaded in a locked container, closet, or cabinet.  If the 
locked container, closet, or cabinet is constructed in whole or in part of glass or 
plexiglass, each firearm shall be additionally secured with a hammer lock, barrel 
lock, or trigger guard. 

 
(3) Ammunition shall be kept in a separate locked storage container or locked 

compartment designed for that purpose. 
 

(4) All archery equipment, hunting and fishing knives, and other weapons shall be 
kept in a locked storage compartment. 

 
(5) Each key to a locked storage container, closet, or compartment of guns, 

ammunition, and other weapons, and to gun locks shall be in the control of a 
licensee at all times. 

 
(h) Storage of household chemicals, personal care products, tools, and sharp instruments. 

The following requirements shall apply when a child in foster care is in placement in the 
family foster home: 

 
(1) All household cleaning supplies and all personal care products that have warning 

labels advising the consumer to keep those supplies and products out of reach of 
children or that contain alcohol shall be kept in locked storage or stored out of 
reach of children less than six years of age. 
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(2) All chemicals and household supplies with warning labels advising the consumer 
to keep those chemicals and supplies out of reach of children shall be kept in 
locked storage or stored out of reach of children less than 10 years of age. 

 
(3)      Sharp instruments shall be stored in drawers equipped with childproof devices to 

prevent access by children or stored out of reach of children less than six years of 
age. 

 
(4) Tobacco, tobacco products, cigarette lighters, and matches shall be inaccessible to 

individuals less than 18 years of age. 
 

(5) Tools shall be inaccessible to each child in foster care when the tools are not in 
use and shall be used by a child in foster care only with supervision by an 
individual 18 years of age and older. 

 
(i) Heating appliances. 

 
(1) Each heating appliance using combustible fuel, including a wood-burning stove or 

a fireplace, shall be vented to the outside. 
 

(2) Each fireplace and each freestanding heating appliance using combustible fuel, 
including a wood-burning stove, shall stand on a noncombustible material 
according to the manufacturer’s specifications, Kansas state statutes, and 
regulations, and local ordinances. 

 
(3) Each heating appliance designed by the manufacturer to be unvented shall be used 

according to the manufacturer’s specifications, Kansas statutes and regulations, 
and local ordinances. 

 
(4) If a child in foster care less than three years of age is in placement in the family 

foster home, a protective barrier shall be provided for each fireplace and each 
freestanding heating appliance as necessary to protect from burns. 

 
(5) If a propane heater is used, the heater shall be installed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recommendations, Kansas statutes and regulations, and local 
ordinances. 

 
(6) Each flue or chimney of any heating appliance that uses combustible fuel shall be 

checked annually and cleaned as recommended by a qualified chimney sweep. 
 
(j) Clothes dryers.  Each clothes dryer shall be vented to the outside or to a venting device 

installed and used according to the manufacturer’s specifications, Kansas statutes, and 
regulations, and local ordinances. 

 
(k) Play space.  Each family foster home shall have a space for indoor play and access to an 

outdoor play space. 
 
(l) Mobile home requirements.  In addition to requirements specified in this regulation, if 

the family foster home is a mobile home, both of the following requirements shall be met: 
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(1) The mobile home shall have two exits that are located at least 20 feet apart, with 
one exit within 35 feet of each bedroom door. 

 
(2) Each mobile home shall be skirted with latticed or solid skirting and securely 

anchored by cable to the ground. 
 
(m) Special inspections.  A special inspection of the family foster home by a fire, health, 

sanitation, or safety official may be required by the secretary or the sponsoring child- 
placing agency to assist in making a decision about the safety of the home for a child in 
foster care. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008; 
amended Sept. 6, 2013.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-821.  Sleeping arrangements. 

 
(a)     Each licensee shall ensure that sufficient space for sleeping is provided to accommodate 

the number of foster family members and each child in foster care.  Sleeping space shall 
not include any of the following places: 

 
(1) An unfinished attic; 

 
(2) an unfinished basement; 

(3) a hall; 

(4) a closet; 
 

(5) a laundry room; 

(6) a garage; 

(7) any living space that is normally used for other than sleeping arrangements; or 
 

(8) any room that provides routine passage to a common use room, to another 
bedroom, or to the outdoors. 

 
(b) Each licensee shall ensure that each bedroom used for sleeping by a child in foster care 

meets the following requirements: 
 

(1) Each bedroom shall have at least 70 square feet. 
 

(2) Each bedroom shall have at least 45 square feet for each individual sharing the 
room. 

 
(3) The exit path from each bed to each outside exit shall have a minimum ceiling 

height of six feet eight inches. 
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(4) Each bedroom shall have a solid door to ensure privacy. 
 

(5) Each bedroom shall have at least two means of escape.  Each means of escape 
shall be easily opened from the inside. 

 
(A) At least one means of escape shall be an unobstructed pathway leading to 

an exit door to the outside. 
 

(B) The second means of escape shall give direct access to the outside and 
shall be an unobstructed door or window that is able to be opened from the 
inside without the use of tools. 

 
(C) For each window used as a means of escape, all of the following 

requirements shall be met: 
 

(i) The window shall have a width of at least 20 inches and a height of 
at least 24 inches. 

 
(ii) The window shall be within 44 inches of the floor or shall have 

permanent steps or another immovable fixture that brings the 
window to within 44 inches of the top of the steps or fixture. 

 
(iii) If the window is screened, the screen shall be easily removed from 

the inside. 
 

(iv) The licensee shall ensure that each occupant of the bedroom can 
easily exit through the window. 

 
(D) If one means of escape is a sliding glass door, the door shall be easily 

opened from the inside. 
 

(6) All false ceilings, curtains, drapes, or fabric used in decoration for ceilings or 
walls in each room used for sleeping shall be made of fire-rated materials. 

 
(c) Privacy for the occupants of all bedrooms shall be ensured. 

 
(d) Each child in foster care shall have a separate bed or crib that meets the following 

requirements: 
 

(1) Is intact, fully functional, and in good repair to prevent injury or entrapment of the 
child; 

 
(2)       is of sufficient size to accommodate the size and weight of the child; 

 
(3) has a mattress that is clean and has a waterproof covering, if needed; and 

 
(4) has bedding adequate to the season and appropriate to the age of the child. 

(e) Each bed that requires bed springs shall have springs in good condition. 
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(f) If a bunk bed is used by any child in foster care, the following requirements shall be met: 
 

(1) The upper bunk shall be protected on all sides with rails.  Headboards and 
footboards may substitute for rails on the ends of the bed. 

(2) Each child in foster care using the upper bunk shall be at least six years of age. 

(g) No rollaway bed, hideaway bed, or other temporary bed shall be used, except when 
children in foster care are visiting in the family foster home for a social event or for 
short-term respite care. 

 
(h) Each child in foster care less than 12 months of age shall sleep in a crib.  For the 

purposes of a nap, the child may sleep in a playpen.  Each crib and each playpen shall 
meet the following requirements: 

 
(1) If a crib or playpen is slatted, the slats shall be spaced no more than 2 3/8 inches 

apart. 
 

(2) Each crib shall have a firm mattress fitted so that no more than two fingers can fit 
between the mattress and the crib side when the mattress is set in the lowest 
position. 

 
(3) The crib corner post extensions shall not exceed 1 1/16 inch. 

 
(4) When the crib is in use, the drop side of the crib shall be secured in the up 

position. 
 

(5) No pillow, quilt, comforter, blanket, bumpers, or other soft product that could 
cause suffocation shall be used in the crib or the playpen when a child who is less 
than 12 months of age is sleeping in the crib or playpen. 

 
(i) Each child in foster care who is less than 12 months of age shall be put to sleep on the 

child’s back unless ordered otherwise by the child’s physician. If the child in foster care 
is able to turn over independently, that child shall be placed on the child’s back but then 
shall be allowed to remain in a position preferred by the child. 

 
(j) Each child in foster care 12 months and older may sleep in a crib until that child is 18 

months of age or until the child is of such height that the upper rail of the crib is at the 
child’s breast level when the child is standing and the crib mattress is at the lowest level. 

 
(k) Each child in foster care 18 months but not yet 30 months of age may sleep in a crib 

when prescribed by that child’s physician. 

(l) At night each caregiver shall sleep within hearing distance of the child in foster care. 

(m) When any child in foster care five years of age or older shares a room, the following 
requirements shall be met: 

 
(1) The child shall share the room only with children of the same sex. 
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(2) The children sharing the room shall be age-mates, unless the following 
requirements have been met: 

 
(A) The licensee shall notify the family foster home’s sponsoring child- 

placing agency of the proposed sleeping arrangement. 
 

(B) The licensee shall request that the sponsoring child-placing agency and the 
child's placing agent determine if the proposed sleeping arrangement is 
appropriate. 

 
(C) The licensee shall maintain documentation of the approval of the 

sponsoring child-placing agency for the sleeping arrangement. 
 

(3) A child who is known to be a sexual perpetrator or a sexual abuse victim shall not 
share a room until the following conditions are met: 

 
(A) The potential roommate arrangements are assessed by the child’s placing 

agent, the home’s sponsoring child-placing agency, and the licensee; and 
 

(B) based on the assessment, a determination is made by the child’s placing 
agency that it is unlikely that further sexual abuse will result from the 
child sharing a room. 

 
(n) If any child in foster care under five years of age shares a room with any other child, all 

of the children sharing the room shall be age-mates or shall be under five years of age. 
The children sharing the room may be of the opposite sex if all of the children are under 
five years of age. 

 
(o) A child in foster care who is a parent may share a room with the parent’s own child or 

children.  The room shall meet the requirements in paragraph (b)(2). 
 
(p) A child in foster care may sleep in the bedroom of the licensee under any of the following 

circumstances: 
 

(1) The child in foster care is less than 12 months of age. 

(2) The child in foster care is ill. 

(3) The child in foster care has special developmental or medical needs requiring 
close supervision as documented by a physician. 

 
(q) If a child in foster care sleeps in the licensee’s bedroom, the bedroom shall have 

at least 130 square feet. 
 
(r) Each licensee shall ensure that separate and accessible drawer space for personal 

belongings and closet space for clothing are available for each child in foster care. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008; 
amended Sept. 6, 2013.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-822.  Safety procedures; emergency plan; drills. 
 
(a) Each licensee shall make the following preparations for emergencies: 

 
(1) Each licensee shall ensure that a telephone and emergency information are 

available as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-820. 
 

(2) Each licensee shall develop an emergency plan for the family foster home to 
provide for the safety of all residents of the home in emergencies including fires, 
tornadoes, storms, floods, and serious injuries. 

 
(3) Each emergency plan shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the family foster 

home. 
 

(4) Each licensee and each individual providing care in the family foster home shall 
be informed of and shall follow the emergency plan. 

 
(b) Each licensee shall ensure that prior arrangements are made at a hospital or clinic for 

emergency treatment for each child in foster care and shall ensure that all medical and 
surgical consent forms are acceptable to the hospital or clinic. 

 
(c) If the child in foster care is taken to the hospital or clinic for emergency treatment, each 

licensee shall ensure that the child’s health assessment forms and the medical and 
surgical consent forms are taken to the hospital or clinic. 

 
(d) If a caregiver accompanies a child in foster care to the source of emergency care, that 

caregiver shall remain with the child.  Each licensee shall ensure that an arrangement is 
made and followed to ensure supervision of the other children in the family foster home 
if a child requires emergency care. 

 
(e)     Each licensee shall ensure that a fire drill is conducted monthly and that the drills are 

scheduled to allow participation by each family member and child in foster care.  The 
date and time of each drill shall be recorded and kept on file in the family foster home. 

 
(f) Each licensee shall ensure that a tornado drill is conducted monthly during April through 

September and that the drill is scheduled to allow participation by each resident of the 
family foster home.  The date and time of each drill shall be recorded and kept on file in 
the family foster home. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 
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K.A.R. 28-4-823.  Outside premises.  Each licensee shall ensure that all of the following 
requirements are met: 

 
(a) General safety. 

 
(1)      The outside premises of the home shall be free from any objects, materials, and 

conditions that constitute a danger to the health or safety of each child in foster 
care. 

 
(2) No child less than six years of age shall have unsupervised access to either of the 

following: 
 

(A) A fish pond or a decorative pool containing water 24 inches deep or less; 
or 

 
(B) any safety hazard specified in subsection (d). 

(b) Outdoor play area. 

(1) The play area shall be located, arranged, and maintained to allow for supervision 
by the caregiver and to reduce the risk of injury. 

 
(2) The play area shall be well drained and free of known health, safety, and 

environmental hazards. 
 

(3) Play equipment shall be located in an area free from hazards, be age-appropriate, 
and be in good repair.  The play equipment shall be placed far enough away from 
potential hazards, including trees, structures, fences, and power lines, to minimize 
the risk of injury while the play equipment is in use.  Equipment that is broken, 
hazardous, or unsafe shall not be used.  Swings and climbing equipment shall be 
anchored and shall not be used over hard-surfaced materials, including asphalt, 
concrete, and bare, hard-packed dirt. 

 
(c) Trampolines.  Trampolines shall be prohibited on the premises of the family foster home. 

(d) Protection from safety hazards. 

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that each child in foster care is protected from all safety 
hazards adjacent to or within 50 yards of the house, as follows: 

 
(A) A busy street; 

 
(B) railroad tracks; or 

 
(C) a water hazard, including a ditch, a pond, a lake, and any standing water 

over 24 inches deep. 
 

(2) The licensee shall develop and follow a written outdoor safety plan before a child 
in foster care is allowed to be outdoors in an unfenced area of the family foster 
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home.  The plan shall be approved by the sponsoring child-placing agency and 
shall include all of the following: 

 
(A) A description of any safety hazard and of any natural or man-made barrier 

separating the area from the safety hazard; 
 

(B) the approximate distance from the unfenced area to each safety hazard; 

(C) a description of the provisions made for increased supervision; and 

(D) a requirement for a caregiver to be outdoors with each child in foster care 
less than six years of age. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-824.  Swimming pools, wading pools, and hot tubs; off-premises swimming and 
wading activities. 

 
(a) General safety on the premises of the family foster home. 

 
(1) If any swimming pool or wading pool with water over 12 inches deep or any hot 

tub is on the premises, the pool or tub shall be constructed, maintained, and used 
in such a manner that safeguards the lives and health of the children in foster care. 

 
(2) If children in foster care have access to a swimming pool, wading pool, or hot tub, 

at least one adult shall be physically present and shall directly supervise the 
children.  A minimum ratio of one adult to six children, including children in 
foster care, shall be maintained. 

 
(3) Each licensee shall post legible safety rules for the use of a swimming pool or hot 

tub in a conspicuous location.  If the pool or hot tub is available for use, the 
licensee shall read and review the safety rules weekly with each child in foster 
care. 

 
(b) Swimming pools on the premises. 

 
(1) Each in-ground swimming pool shall be enclosed by a fence at least five feet 

high.  Each gate in the fence shall be kept locked and shall be self-locking.  The 
wall of a house or other building containing a window designed to open or a door 
shall not be used in lieu of a fence. 

 
(2) Each aboveground swimming pool shall be at least four feet high or shall be 

enclosed by a fence at least five feet high with a gate that is kept closed and is 
self-locking.  Steps shall be removed and stored away from the pool when the 
pool is not in use.  Each aboveground pool with a deck or berm that provides a 
ground-level entry on any side shall be treated as an in-ground pool. 

 
(3) Sensors or pool covers shall not be used in lieu of a fence. 
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(4) The pH of the water in the swimming pool shall be maintained between 7.2 and 
8.2.  The available chlorine content shall be between 0.4 and 3.0 parts per million. 
The pool shall be cleaned daily, and the chlorine level and pH level shall be tested 
before each use.  The results of these tests shall be recorded and available if 
requested. 

 
(5) An individual with a life-saving certificate or an individual with training in CPR 

who can swim shall be in attendance while any child in foster care is using a 
swimming pool. 

 
(6) Each swimming pool more than six feet in width, length, or diameter shall be 

provided with a ring buoy and rope or with a shepherd's hook.  The equipment 
shall be of sufficient length to reach the center of the pool from each edge of the 
pool. 

 
(c) Wading pools on the premises. 

 
(1) No child in foster care shall be permitted to play without adult supervision in any 

area where there is a wading pool containing water. 
 

(2) The water in each wading pool shall be emptied daily. 

(d) Hot tubs on the premises. 

(1) Each hot tub shall be covered when not in use with an insulated, rigid cover 
secured by locks or surrounded by a fence that meets the requirements of 
paragraph (b)(1). 

 
(2) The chlorine and pH levels shall be tested and maintained as required by the 

manufacturer’s specifications for use. 
 

(3) Each licensee shall ensure that no child in foster care less than four years of age 
uses a hot tub.  Each licensee shall ensure that each child in foster care four years 
of age and older is permitted to use the hot tub only in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s specifications and recommendations for use. 

 
(e) General safety off the premises of the family foster home.  Any child in foster care who 

knows how to swim and who is at least six years of age may be permitted to swim in 
ponds, lakes, rivers, and other natural bodies of water that are approved for swimming by 
the county health department, the Kansas department of health and environment, or the 
designated authority in the state in which the swimming site is located. 

 
(1) Each licensee shall ensure that each child in foster care while wading, swimming, 

or involved in other activities near, in, or on a pond, lake, river, or other natural 
body of water is directly supervised by a designated adult. 

 
(2) Each child in foster care who is a nonswimmer or who is less than six years of age 

shall wear a safety vest certified by the manufacturer as appropriate for the child’s 
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age and weight specifications, when wading or playing near a pond, lake, river, 
or other natural body of water or when boating. 

 
(3) Each caregiver shall review boating and swimming safety rules with each child 

in foster care before the activity and shall be responsible for enforcing the safety 
rules. 

 
(4) If a certified lifeguard is not on duty, an individual with a life-saving certificate 

or training in CPR who can swim shall be in attendance. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 
K.A.R. 28-4-825.  Animals. 

 
(a) Each licensee shall ensure that when any animal is kept on the premises, the pet area 

is kept clean, with no evidence of flea, tick, or worm infestation in the area. 
 
(b) Each licensee shall ensure that each animal that is in contact with any child in foster 

care meets the following requirements: 
 

(1) Is in good health, with no evidence of disease; and 
 

(2) is friendly and poses no threat to the health, safety, and well-being of children. 
 
(c) Each domesticated dog and each domesticated cat shall have a current rabies 

vaccination that is given by a veterinarian or given under the direct supervision of a 
veterinarian. 

 
(d) A record of each current rabies vaccination shall be kept on file in the family 

foster home, and a copy shall be supplied to the sponsoring child-placing agency. 
 
(e) If any animal that represents a hazard to children is on the premises, each child in 

foster care shall be protected from that animal. 
 
(f) Pit bulls, exotic animals, and venomous or constricting reptiles shall not be 

kept or brought on to the family foster home premises. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective March 28, 2008.) 

 


