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GENERAL REGULATIONS FOR LICENSED DAY CARE HOMES, GROUP DAY 
CARE HOMES, CHILD CARE CENTERS, PRESCHOOLS, RESIDENTIAL CENTERS 

AND GROUP BOARDING HOMES 
 
K.A.R. 28-4-122.  General regulations for family day care homes and child care facilities.   
 
K.A.R. 28-4-123 through 28-4-132 shall apply to the following:  
 
(a) Family day care home as defined by K.S.A. 65-517, and amendments thereto;  
 
(b) day care home and group day care home as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-113;  
 
(c) preschool and child care center as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-420; and 
 
(d) residential center and group boarding home as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-268. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-522; effective, T-86-46, Dec. 18, 1985; 
effective May 1, 1986; amended March 28, 2008.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-123.  Parental access to child care facilities. 
 
Each parent or guardian of a child enrolled in a day care facility or preschool as defined in 
K.S.A. 65-517, K.A.R. 28-4-113 or K.A.R. 28-4-420 shall have access to the premises during all 
hours of operation. Each residential facility as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-311 and K.A.R. 28-4-268 
shall develop a plan for parental visitation in cooperation with the legal custodian if different 
from the parent. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and K.S.A. 65-522; effective, T-86-46, 
Dec. 18, 1985; effective May 1, 1986.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-124.  Parental permission for children to go off-premises. 
 
Each day care facility as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-113, K.A.R. 28-4-420 and K.S.A. 65-517, and 
any amendments to it shall obtain a signed permission for each location to which children go off 
of the premises on a form supplied by the department of health and environment.  The 
destination, the time children leave the child care facility, the adults responsible for the children 
while off premises, and the estimated time of return shall be posted in a place accessible to 
parents. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-522; effective, T-86-46, Dec. 18, 
1985; effective May 1, 1986; amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-125.  Criminal history and child abuse registry information for the purpose of 
obtaining criminal and child abuse histories. 
 
(a) Each child care facility subject to licensing or registration by the secretary of health and 

environment shall at the time of initial application and reapplication report the name, 
address, and birthdate of each person over 10 years of age who resides, works or  
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regularly volunteers in the facility, excluding children placed in care.  The report shall be 
forwarded to the Kansas department of health and environment on departmental forms.  

 
(b) Within one week of the time a new person over 10 years of age resides, works or 

regularly volunteers in the facility, excluding children placed in care, a report of the 
name, address and birthdate shall be filed with the Kansas department of health and 
environment.  

 
(c) A copy of each report required by K.A.R. 28-4-125(a) and (b) shall be kept on file at the 

facility.  
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 1988 Supp. 65-516, effective, T-86-46, Dec. 18,1985; 
effective May 1, 1986; amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-126.  Health of Persons 16 years or older in child care facilities. 
 
(a) (1) Each person caring for children shall be free from physical, mental or emotional   
  handicaps as necessary to protect the health, safety and welfare of the children,  
  and shall be qualified by temperament, emotional maturity, sound judgment, and  
  an understanding of children.  
 
 (2) Persons in contact with children shall not be in a state of impaired ability due to  
  the use of alcohol or drugs.  
 
(b) (1) Each person regularly caring for children shall have a health assessment   
  conducted by a licensed physician or by a nurse trained to perform health   
  assessments.  The health assessment shall be conducted no earlier than one year  
  before the date of employment or initial application for a license or certificate of  
  registration, or not later than 30 days after the date of employment or initial  
  application.  
 
 (2) Each substitute in a day care facility as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-113 or K.S.A. 65- 
  517 shall be exempt from K.A.R. 28-4-126(b)(1).  
 
(c) Tuberculin testing.  
 
 (1) Each person living, working or regularly volunteering in the facility shall have a  
  record of a negative tuberculin test or x-ray obtained not more than two years  
  before the employment or initial application, for a license or certificate of   
  registration or not later than 30 days after the date of employment or initial  
  application.  
 
 (2) Additional tuberculin testing shall be required if significant exposure to an active  
  case of tuberculosis occurs, or symptoms compatible with tuberculosis develop.  
  Proper  treatment or prophylaxis shall be instituted, and results of the follow-up  
  shall be recorded on the person's health record.  The Kansas department of health  
  and environment shall be informed of each case described within this paragraph.  
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(d) Results of the health assessment and tuberculin test shall be recorded on forms supplied 
by the Kansas department of health and environment and kept on file at the facility. 
Health assessment records may be transferred to a new place of employment if the 
transfer occurs within one year of previous employment. 

 
(e) Each resident 16 years or older in a residential facility as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-268 

shall meet the requirements in K.A.R. 28-4-126(b), (c) and (d) and K.A.R. 28-4-275(c). 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and K.S.A. 65-522; effective May 1, 1986; 
amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-127.  Emergencies. 
 
(a) A working telephone shall be on the premises.  Emergency telephone numbers shall be 

posted next to the telephone for the police, fire department, ambulance, hospital or 
hospitals, and poison control center.  

 
(b) Emergency medical treatment.  
 
 (1) Each facility shall have on file at the facility for each child:  
 
  (A) written permission of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian for   
   emergency medical treatment on a form that meets the requirements of the 
   hospital or clinic where emergency medical care will be given; and  
 
  (B) the name, address and telephone number of a physician to be called in case 
   of emergency.  
 
 (2) Residential facilities providing emergency care shall be exempt from K.A.R. 28- 
  4-127(b)(l)(A).  
 
 (3) Provisions shall be made at a hospital or clinic for emergency treatment for  
  children.  
 
(c) Health assessment forms and emergency release forms shall be taken to the emergency 

room with the child.  
 
(d) When a staff member accompanies a child to the source of emergency care, that person 

shall remain with the child unless or until a parent or parent's designee assumes 
responsibility for the child.  Such an arrangement shall not compromise the supervision 
of the other children in the facility.  

 
(e) Reporting illnesses and injuries:  
 
 (1) (A) Residential facilities shall have on file at the facility written policies on  
   reporting of illnesses and injuries of adults and children.  
 
  (B) The policies shall be approved by the licensing agency.  
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 (2) Day care facilities shall report immediately to the parent or guardian each illness  
  or injury of a child which requires medical attention.  
 
 (3) Communicable diseases shall be reported to the county health department by the  
  next working day.  
 
(f) Any injury or illness which results in the death of a child in care shall be reported by the 

next working day to the county health department or the Kansas department of health and 
environment. 

 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-522; effective May 1, 1986; amended 
May 1, 1987; amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R.  28-4-128.  Safety procedures. 
 
(a) Each facility shall develop an emergency plan to provide for the safety of children and 

staff in emergencies such as fire, tornadoes, storms, floods, and serious injury.  
 
(b) Each emergency plan shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the facility. Staff in day 

care facilities shall review the plan with parents of children enrolled.  
 
(c) Each person responsible for the children, including each substitute, shall be informed of 

and shall follow the emergency plans.  
 
(d) A fire drill shall be conducted monthly and scheduled to allow participation by each 

child.  Each date and time shall be recorded.  
 
(e) A tornado drill shall be conducted monthly, April through September, and scheduled to 

allow participation by each child.  Each date and time shall be recorded.  
 
(f) Each person regularly caring for children shall have first-aid training.  Documentation of 

the training shall be on file at the facility.  
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and K.S.A. 65-522; effective May 1, 1986; 
amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-129.  Swimming and wading activities. 
 
(a) Swimming and wading pools on the premises.  
 
 (1) If swimming pools with water over 24 inches deep, wading pools, or hot tubs are  
  on the premises, they shall be constructed, maintained, and used in such a manner  
  as to safeguard the lives and health of the children.  
 
 (2) The number and ages of children using either swimming or wading pools shall be  
  limited to allow appropriate supervision by adult staff members.  
 
 (3) Required staff/child ratios shall be maintained at all times that children are  
  involved in swimming or wading activities.  
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 (4) Legible safety rules for the use of swimming pools shall be posted in a   
  conspicuous location, and shall be read and reviewed weekly by each staff  
  member responsible for the supervision of children.  
 
(b) Swimming pools on the premises.  
 
 (1) Below-ground swimming pools shall be enclosed by a fence not less than five feet 
  high to prevent chance access by children.  
 
 (2) Above-ground swimming pools shall be four feet high, or shall be enclosed with a  
  fence not less than five feet high.  Steps shall be removed from the pool when the  
  pool is not in use.  
 
 (3) Sensors shall not be used in lieu of a fence.  
 
 (4) Water in the swimming pool shall be maintained between pH 7.2 and pH 8.2.  
  Available free chlorine content shall be between 0.4 and 3.0 parts per million.   
  The pool shall be cleaned daily, and the chlorine level and pH level shall be tested 
  daily.  The results of these tests shall be recorded and available.  
 
 (5) A person with a life saving certificate or a person with training in CPR who can  
  swim shall be in attendance when children are using a swimming pool.  
 
 (6) Each swimming pool more than six feet in width, length, or diameter shall be  
  provided with a ring buoy and rope or shepherd's hook.  Such equipment shall be  
  of sufficient length to reach the center of the pool from its edge.  
 
(c) Wading pools on the premises.  
 
 (1) Children shall never be permitted to play without supervision in areas where there 
  is a wading pool containing water.  
 
 (2) Water in wading pools shall be emptied daily.  
 
(d) Hot tubs or spas on the premises.  
 
 (1) Each hot tub or spa shall be covered with an insulated cover secured by straps or  
  locks.  
 
 (2) Children in day care facilities shall not be permitted to use hot tubs.  Children in  
  residential facilities shall be permitted to use hot tubs when medically indicated.  
 
(e) Ponds and lakes may be used only for children over six years of age, and shall be  
 approved for swimming by the county health department or Kansas department of health 
 and environment or like departments in other states.  Required staff/child ratios shall be 
 maintained at all times, and a certified life guard shall be on duty. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-522; effective May 1, 1986; amended 
Feb. 26, 1990.) 



 29 

K.A.R. 28-4-130.  Transportation. 
 
(a) Facility-owned or leased vehicles.  
 
 (1) When a vehicle used for transportation of children is owned or leased by the  
  facility, the driver shall be 18 years of age or older, and shall hold an operator's  
  license of a type appropriate for the vehicle being used.  Trailers pulled by  
  another vehicle, camper shells or truck beds shall not be used for transportation of 
  children.  
 
 (2) (A) Each transporting vehicle shall be maintained in safe operating condition.  
 
  (B) The transporting vehicle shall have a yearly mechanical safety check of  
   tires, lights, windshield, wipers, horn, signal lights, steering, suspension,  
   glass, brakes, tail lights, exhaust system, and outside mirror.  A record of  
   the date of the annual safety check and corrections made shall be kept on  
   file at the facility. 
 
 (3) The vehicle shall be covered by accident and liability insurance in amount of not  
  less than $100,000 for personal injury or death in any one accident, $300,000 for  
  injury or death to two or more persons in any one accident; and $50,000 for loss   
  to property of others.  
 
 (4) (A) Emergency release forms and health assessment records shall be in the  
   vehicle when children are transported.  Residential facilities shall be  
   exempt from K.A.R. 28-4-130(a)(4)(A) unless children are being   
   transported more than 60 miles from the facility, or if children are in  
   emergency care.  
 
  (B) A first-aid kit shall be in the transporting vehicle and shall include band- 
   aids of all sizes; adhesive tape; a roll of gauze; scissors; one package of  
   4x4 inch gauze squares; a cleansing agent; and one elastic bandage.  
 
 (5) Each vehicle shall be equipped with an individual restraint for each child as  
  follows: 
  
  (A) An infant unable to sit up without support shall be provided with an infant  
   car carrier which faces the rear.  
 
  (B) A child able to sit up without support shall be provided with one of the  
   following restraints:  
 
   (i) A shield-type device;  
 
   (ii) a car seat facing the front that is designed to hold a child weighing  
    up to 40 pounds; or  
    
   (iii) a safety harness.  
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  (C) A child four years of age or older, or weighing 40 pounds or more, shall   
   have a lap belt.  Shoulder straps shall be used if they do not cross the  
   child's neck or face.  
 
  (D) Not more than one child shall be restrained in each lap belt.  
 
  (E) Buses of the type used by schools shall not be required to be equipped  
   with individual restraints if the buses are used to transport only school-age 
   children.  
 
 (6) The safety of the children riding in the vehicle shall be protected as follows:  
 
  (A) All doors except the front door on the driver's side shall be locked while  
   the vehicle is in motion.  
 
  (B) Discipline shall be maintained at all times.  
 
  (C) All parts of the child's body shall remain inside the vehicle at all times.  
 
  (D) Children shall neither enter nor exit the vehicle into a lane of traffic.  
 
  (E) Children under 10 years of age shall not be left in a vehicle unattended by  
   an adult.  When the vehicle is vacated, the driver shall make certain no  
   child is left in the vehicle.  
 
  (F) Smoking in the vehicle shall be prohibited while children are being  
   transported.  
 
  (G) (i) Day care facilities defined by K.S.A. 65-517, K.A.R. 28-4-113 and 
    K.A.R. 28-4-420 shall maintain applicable staff/child ratios.  
 
   (ii) Residential facilities as defined by K.A.R. 28-4-268 and K.A.R.  
    28-4-311 shall maintain applicable staff/child ratios when children  
    under six are being transported.  
 
  (H) The driver shall transport the child to the intended location, person,  
   agency or institution as designated by the child's parent or legal guardian,  
   or by the agency person in charge.  
 
(b) Vehicles owned by staff or volunteers.  
 
 (1) When a vehicle used for transportation of children is owned by staff or volunteers  
  the vehicle shall be covered by accident and liability insurance required by K.S.A. 
  40-3104 and 40-3118 and any amendments to it.  
 
 (2) Each such vehicle shall meet the requirements of K.A.R. 28-4-130(a)(1);   
  (a)(2)(A); (a)(4)(A); (a)(5); and (a)(6)(A) through (H).  
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(c) (1) Each driver shall be informed of the provisions of K.A.R. 28-4-130.  
 
 (2) Paragraphs (A) through (H) of subsection (a)(6) of K.A.R. 28-4-130 shall be   
  posted in the vehicle or given to the driver.  
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective May 1, 1986; amended May 1, 
1987; amended Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-131.  Animals, birds, or fish. 
 
(a) When animals, birds, or fish are kept on the premises, the pet area shall be maintained in  
 a sanitary manner.  No animal or bird shall be in the kitchen while food is being prepared. 
 Parents shall be informed whenever children have access to pets in the child care facility.  
 
(b) Dogs and cats shall have current immunizations as recommended by a veterinarian.  A 
 record of immunizations shall be kept on file in the facility.  
 
(c) When animals that represent a hazard to children are on the premises, children shall be 
 protected from them.  Pit bulldogs shall be prohibited.  If animals are displayed as part of 
 an animal exhibit, they shall be supervised by appropriate animal care personnel.  
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-522; effective May 1, 1986; amended 
Feb. 26, 1990.)  
 
K.A.R. 28-4-132.  Child care practices. 
 
(a) Supervision.  Each child in day care shall be under the supervision of a person 16 years of 
 age or older who is responsible for the child's health, safety and well-being.  
 
(b) Discipline.  
 
 (1) There shall be a written discipline policy indicating methods of guidance   
  appropriate to the age of the children enrolled.  Parents shall be informed of the  
  policy.  
 
 (2) Prohibited punishment.  Punishment which is humiliating, frightening or   
  physically harmful to the child shall be prohibited.  Prohibited methods of   
  punishment include:  
 
  (A) corporal punishment such as spanking with the hand or any implement,  
   slapping, swatting, pulling hair, yanking the arm, or any similar activity;  
 
  (B) verbal abuse, threats, or derogatory remarks about the child or the child's  
   family;  
 
  (C) binding or tying to restrict movement, or enclosing in a confined space  
   such as a closet, locked room, box, or similar cubicle;  
 
  (D) withholding or forcing foods; and  
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  (E) placing substances which sting or burn on the child's mouth or tongue or  
   other parts of the body.  
 
 (3) If isolation is used in residential facilities as defined in K.A.R. 28-4-268, the  
  isolation policies shall be approved by the department of social and rehabilitation  
  services before implementation.  
 
 (4) Each staff member and care provider's discipline practices shall comply with  
  K.A.R. 28-4-132.  
 
(c) Diapering and toileting.  
 
 (1) Each child's clothing or bedding shall be changed whenever wet or soiled.  
 
 (2) Each child under three years of age shall have at least one complete change of  
  clothing at the facility.  
 
 (3) (A) Handwashing facilities shall be in or readily accessible to the diaper  
   changing area.  
 
  (B) Each person caring for children shall wash hands with soap and water after 
   changing diapers or soiled clothing.  
 
 (4) Children shall be diapered in their own cribs or playpens, on a clean pad on the  
  floor or on a changing table.  Each unit in a child care center as defined by K.A.R. 
  28-4-420 shall have a changing table.  
 
 (5) Changing tables and pads shall have a waterproof, undamaged surface.  Tables  
  shall be sturdy, and shall be equipped with railing or safety straps.  Children shall  
  not be left unattended on the changing table.  
 
 (6) Changing tables and pads shall be sanitized after each use by washing with a  
  disinfectant solution of 1/4 cup of chlorine bleach to one gallon of water, or an  
  appropriate commercial disinfectant.  
 
 (7) The following procedures shall be followed when washable diapers or training  
  pants are used:  
 
  (A) Day care facilities.  Washable diapers or training pants shall not be rinsed  
   out.  They shall be stored in a labeled covered container or plastic bag and  
   returned home with the parents.  
 
  (B) Residential facilities.  Sanitary laundering procedures which promote  
   infection control shall be followed.  
 
 (8) Disposable diapers shall be placed in a covered container or plastic bag which  
  shall be emptied daily, or more frequently as necessary for odor control.  
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 (9) (A) Potty chairs when used shall be left in the toilet room.  The wastes shall be 
   disposed of immediately in a flush toilet.  The container shall be sanitized  
   after each use and shall be washed with soap and water daily.  
 
  (B)  There shall be one potty chair or child-sized toilet for every five toddlers  
   in a child care  center as defined by K.A.R. 28-4-420.  Potty chairs shall  
   not be counted as toilets.  
 
 (10) Diapering procedures recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and  
  Human Services, Public Health Service, December, 1984, shall be followed in all  
  child care facilities caring for infants and toddlers.  Diapering and toileting  
  procedures shall be posted in child care centers, group boarding homes,   
  residential centers and group day care homes serving children under 2 1/2 years of 
  age. 
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and K.S.A. 65-522; effective Feb. 26, 1990.)  
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Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities 

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 200 
Topeka, KS  66612-1274 

Phone:  785-296-1270 Fax:  785-296-0803 
Website: www.kdheks.gov/kidsnet 

 
IF YOU HAVE DIAPERED CHILDREN IN YOUR CHILD CARE PROGRAM: 

 
Always use this method for changing diapers.  This is the best way to stop diseases that spread through the intestinal 
tract. 
 
1. CHECK to make sure the supplies you need are ready. 
 º fresh diaper or clothes; 
 º freshly dampened paper towels or pre-moistened towelettes; and 
 º plastic bag for soiled diaper 
 
2. PLACE roll paper or a disposable towel on the part of the diapering table where the child's bottom will be. 
 
3. HOLD the child AWAY from your body when you pick him up.  When you know a child has soiled his diaper use 

only your hands to carry him.  LAY the child on the paper or towel. 
 
4. REMOVE soiled diaper or clothes. 
 º Put disposable diapers in a plastic bag or a plastic lined receptacle. 
 º Put soiled clothes in a plastic bag for parents to take home with the child at the end of the day. 
 
  Tell the parents that washing or rinsing clothes soiled with stool at the day care center might cause disease 

germs to spread. 
 
5. CLEAN the child's bottom with: 
 º a pre-moistened disposable towelette, or 
 º a damp paper towel. 

 Put the used towelette or paper towel in the plastic bag or plastic-lined receptacle. 
 
6. REMOVE the paper or towel from beneath the child and dispose of it in the plastic bag or plastic-lined 

receptacle. 
 
7. WIPE your hands with a pre-moistened disposable towelette or a damp paper towel and dispose of it in the 

plastic bag or plastic-lined receptacle.  If you are wearing a glove, dispose of it now. 
 
8. DIAPER or dress the child. 

 Now you can hold him close to you. 
 
9. WASH the CHILD'S hands: 

IMPORTANT: If you must walk from the diapering table to the sink 
 º be sure the child cannot fall, or 
 º carry him with you. 
 
10. RETURN the child to his CRIB. 
 
11. CLEAN and DISINFECT 

º diapering area; 
 º equipment or supplies touched; and 
 º soiled crib or cot, if necessary. 
 
12. WASH your hands. 
 
Reprinted from: What You Can Do to Stop Disease in the Child Day Care Center 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control 
Atlanta, Georgia            December, 1984 
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